ENEC 330: Principles of Sustainability: Home
Finding Research Material
When choosing a research tool to find information on environmental topics, there are several things to keep in mind:
- What type of information do I want (e.g. Science journals, popular magazine articles, news reports, government publications)? Different databases may focus on particular document types. See also: How do I distinguish between different types of journals?
- What subject areas am I interested in? Each database has a particular subject scope that you need to be aware of, e,g, public policy, environmental health, economic development.
- What are the potential assumptions or biases behind the resources? Think critically about the the information you will find.
The resources below are a selection of those available that cover environmental issues, but make sure to look at our longer list of resources in the environmental sciences.
- GreenFILE
- Multidisciplinary database of information on the human impact on the environment
- Scholarly, government, and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments
- Indexing and abstracts of an extensive number of records, as well as Open Access full text records
- Connections between the environment and the disciplines of agriculture, education, law, health and technology
- Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling
Note: Best used with Internet Explorer or Firefox. - PAIS IndexA bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes full-text articles.
- Environment CompleteJournals on topics including agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.
- Alt-PressWatchAlt-Press Watch provides full text access to alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism. This product offers over 600,000 articles from over 230 publications.
- World Development ReportThe World Bank's annual World Development Report (WDR) is a guide to the economic, social and environmental state of the world today.
Librarian Profile
Citing
Use the Citation Builder to format a citation to your chosen style.
Citation Managers
Citation managers help you store references, format them correctly, and insert them into your own writing. The University Libraries support the following citation managers. Read this guide for a comparison of features.
Connect with us
