Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

LTAM 101: Introduction to Latin American Studies: Primary Source Material

What are primary source materials?

What are primary sources? They are often referred to as "first hand" accounts or "original" records. They are the evidence historians use to build interpretations of the past. Most primary sources are created at the time an historical event occurred, while others, such as autobiographies, are produced long after the events they describe. Among the many types of materials that may be primary sources are: letters, diaries, speeches, newspaper articles, autobiographies, oral histories, government and organizational records, statistical data, maps, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, advertisements, and artifacts.

You will find a libguide dedicated to finding primary sources here.

Digital Latin American Primary Sources

Sabin Americana: 1500-1926
An online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: Various
Empire Online
Covers 500 years of the rise and fall of empires, this features a wide variety of material, including exploration journals & logs; correspondence; periodicals; diaries; government papers; missionary papers; travel writing; slave papers; memoirs; fiction; children's adventure stories; folk tales; exhibition catalogs; maps; marketing posters; photographs; and illustrations, with many in color.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Making of the Modern World (Parts I, II)
Part I presents more than 66,000 titles from the period 1450-1914 and is the most comprehensive collection in existence for the study of early economic, political, business and social history and for researching the literature of economics from this period. The collection contains books, serials, pamphlets, government publications and more.

Part II provides a glimpse into the second half of the 19th century and the global events and crises that occurred. Topics covered by this collection include: banking history, economic disaster and recovery, socialism and social movements, war and the military, law and government and industry and trade.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: English, French, German, Portuguese, Scandinavian, Italian, Spanish

Historical Newspapers

Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876
Fully searchable, primary-source collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Primarily English language, but a number of Danish, French, and Spanish-language titles are included. Essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: Various
Latin American Newspapers
A searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers with online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: Spanish, Portuguese
Latin American Newspapers II
A searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers with online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: Spanish
Paper of Record
A fully searchable digital archive of historical newspapers. The archive contains newspapers from Europe and the Americas, chiefly from the 19th century, but with some running up to the 2000s. Countries included: UK, USA, Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, and Mexico.

Note: We are limited to 1 user at a time. Please click on 'Logoff' when you are finished with this resource.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: Various

Current Newspapers

Latin American Newsstream
Latin American Newsstream provides over 100 full text newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese from across Latin America.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: English, Spanish, Portuguese

New York Times Academic Pass

Overview

The University Libraries, with support from the Kathrine R. Everett Law Library, have partnered with the New York Times to provide students, faculty, and staff with access to NYTimes.com, the NYTimes.com mobile app, and NYT Cooking. Interested users will need to authenticate through accessnyt.com once to set up an account.

Faculty/Staff will be provided with an academic pass valid for 4 years. Students will be provided an academic pass valid until December 31, of the graduation year they select.

Setting up your account

NEW subscribers

Visit accessnyt.com to create an account.
Type in University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and follow the instructions.
If you encounter any error messages, please email edu@nytimes.com.

EXISTING registered subscribers with ACTIVE PAID NYT subscription

If you have an active paid subscription, you will first need to cancel your personal subscription. You can do this by connecting with a chat agent on the site or calling 800-698-4637.
After you cancel your paid account, you can follow the directions below to claim your complimentary subscription.

EXISTING registered subscribers that DO NOT HAVE ACTIVE NYT subscription

Visit accessnyt.com to create an account.
Click on "Already have an account "Log In" (Found below "Create An Account").
Input your email address and the same password created for your previous account.
If you encounter any error messages, please email edu@nytimes.com.

Activate NYT Cooking access

NEW! The UNC Library now provides access to NYT Cooking. Log in with your Onyen and click the redeem button to claim your code. You can then log in with your current New York Times account or create a new account.

Additional New York Times resources

The UNC Library provides access to backfile articles in PDF format via New York Times Historical Newspaper. There is no daily limit to the number of articles you can download.

All UNC community members have access to The New York Times in Education, a collection of materials highlighting how The Times can be used to support curricular and extra-curricular learning. Sign up with your UNC email address.

Access restrictions

Access does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords, or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users receive access to the New York Times archives (1851-2002) which includes 5 PDF downloads from the Times Machine per day via timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser. Archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Digital access is available only during the time that our New York Times Site License is active.

Help

Contact edu@nytimes.com if you have access or registration issues.

Contact Suchi Mohanty (smohanty@email.unc.edu) if you have questions about UNC Chapel Hill's subscription to the New York Times Academic Pass.