Film & Cinema Research: Databases & Reviews
Intro guide to film & cinema research; library resources; online resources; collections; etc.
Criticism & Reviews
A Film Review is generally an article that is published in an online or print newspaper, magazine, or scholarly work that describes and evaluates a film. A review often offers an opinion or focuses on making a recommendation.
Film Criticism is generally written by an expert in film studies or film scholar. The criticism often presents the film within a specific context (theoretical, social, political or historical) while drawing on a larger dialog and positioning their argument within the field.
Film Databases
- Film Index InternationalA major information resource for entertainment films, directors and key players produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics and current cinema - Film Index International provides international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals PlusCreated by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the database indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- Film Literature IndexInternational articles on cinema & TV -from 1976-2001
- IMDBFairly comprehensive source for information about cinema and television
Media Librarian
Winifred Metz
she/her/hers
Connect with us
