Geriatric Practice: Core Sources
A guide for practitioners in the field of geriatrics
Created by Health Science Librarians
Information Sources & Databases
Core health information sources for practitioners interested in geriatrics are listed below. For general health information sources, instructions on accessing geriatrics information are given. If you're a UNC affiliate looking for a particular database, use the search box to the right to search for it.
- AgeLine
AgeLine, produced by AARP, focuses on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. AgeLine includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy, and indexes journals, books, book chapters, reports, dissertations, consumer guides, and educational videos.
- AHEC Digital LibraryThe AHEC Digital Library is designed to be the first choice portal to the Internet for NC healthcare professionals. Geriatrics health specialty resources such as databases, books, practice guidelines, CE information, mobile resources, clinical answers, clinical trials, and patient education resources can be found in the "Health Specialty Resources" section. Click the "more" hyperlink on bottom of the homepage to access this section.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCINAHL Plus with Full Text is a collection of more than 770 full text nursing & allied health journals dating as far back as 1937, with bibliographic indexing for more than 5,000 additional nursing and related journals. Also included are select health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
- Healthy People 2020From the 2020 Topics & Objectives page, click on "Older Adults" to see a list of all the objectives that focus on health, function, and quality of life for seniors.
- NC LIVE Health and Wellness ResourcesWork at a facility with no library access? A free option is to contact your local public library for the password to NC LIVE, through which one can access a variety of medical and health databases.
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
Connect with us
