Early Career Researcher's Guide: Literature Resources
This portal is designed to provide early career researchers with basic information they need to get started at UNC and to link them to relevant resources in other Library guides or elsewhere at UNC.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Selected Databases
Selected list of databases available through UNC-CH Libraries.
Enter your Onyen and password to access databases.
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
- BIOSIS Citation Index
- Citation and abstract database with access to many of the articles through the library
- Covers the area of life sciences research from 1926 to present
- Includes journals, books, reports, meetings, and patents
- EmbaseHighly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. Supports drug discovery & development, pharmacovigilance, medical device development and post-market surveillance, and evidence-based medicine.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCINAHL Plus with Full Text is a collection of more than 770 full text nursing & allied health journals dating as far back as 1937, with bibliographic indexing for more than 5,000 additional nursing and related journals. Also included are select health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
- PsycInfoDatabase from the American Psychological Association covering the academic research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines (medicine, education, social work, etc.) from over 60 countries in more than 29 languages. It provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
- ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and AbstractsIndexes journal articles in over 500 journals published in 19 different countries. Subjects include health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- All Databases at UNC-Chapel Hill (E-Research Tools)Complete list of all the databases available through the University Libraries, organized according to discipline.
Using the Libraries
In this box:
Libraries at UNC-CH
Finding Books and Journals
Finding Articles
Articles+
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery
Access Information
Libraries at UNC-CH
- Health Sciences Library: Search UNC-CH Libraries' catalog or PubMed; access electronic databases and learn more about the services and borrowing procedures at the HSL.
- UNC-CH Libraries and Hours: Map and hours for all libraries at UNC-CH.
Finding Books and Journals
- The catalog for the UNC-CH library system can be searched from the Health Sciences Library homepage
- Click on the "Catalog" tab above the search box
- Use keywords, title, author, journal title or subject to search for:
- Print and electronic books
- Print and electronic journals
- Other media (videos, DVDs, audiobooks)
- Results show the location and availability of the item
Finding Articles
- The UNC University Libraries provides access to hundreds of databases. Click on the links below to access:
- "Selected Databases" box on this page
- Core health sciences databases
- E-Research Tools: Complete list of databases available through UNC University Libraries, organized by discipline and title
- To get the article, click on
button next to the article you want. This allows you to:
- Access full-text articles available electronically through UNC-CH libraries
- Search the UNC-CH library catalog for the print journal
- Submit an Interlibrary Loan request (see below) if the journal is not available at UNC-CH libraries
Articles+
- Articles+ is a library search engine that searches for scholarly and news articles,e-books, theses and dissertations
- Articles+ is helpful for research topics that are interdisciplinary in nature because it searches across multiple platforms: the library catalog, databases, journal publishers and more
- To search Articles+, click on the "Articles+" link below the search box on the UNC University Libraries homepage
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery
- Students, faculty and staff currently associated with UNC-CH are eligible to use interlibrary loan (ILL) and document delivery services
- Use your ILLiad Account to:
- Request books from another library on the UNC-CH campus
- Place a hold or recall on a book
- Request a book or document not available at UNC-CH libraries
Access Information
- On Campus: Electronic resources are accessible on-campus and from the UNC Hospitals' computers. Faculty, students and staff must register personal laptops and mobile devices to use the UNC-CH wireless networks.
- Off Campus: Access resources off-campus via the Libraries' websites by logging in with your Onyen and password. Most electronic resources are accessible off-campus to students, faculty and staff. You can also connect to the Cisco AnyConnect VPN on your device to have access to the on-campus internet.
Connect with us
