Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Early Career Researcher's Guide: Writing & Citing
This portal is designed to provide early career researchers with basic information they need to get started at UNC and to link them to relevant resources in other Library guides or elsewhere at UNC.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Citation Management
Citation management programs enable you to collect, organize and share your references. These programs also allow you to insert citations and create bibliographies in word processing documents.
- EndNote GuideEndNote is a desktop-based citation management program. Faculty and staff can purchase EndNote at a discount through UNC software acquisitions.
- Lean Library Workspace (Sciwheel) GuideLean Library Workspace (Sciwheel) features a web-based application, a browser extension, powerful word processing plugins and a mobile application. It is freely available to UNC-CH faculty, staff and students.
- Mendeley GuideMendeley integrates web and a desktop interface for the creation of a personal library with Word integration so you can cite as you write. It is freely available. Please note that the UNC Health Sciences Library does not provide support for Mendeley.
- Zotero GuideZotero is a free web based reference management program.
- Comparing Reference ManagersChart comparing features of tools used to manage references includes EndNote, F1000W, Mendeley, and Zotero.
- Classes at the Health Sciences LibraryThe Health Sciences Library regularly offers basic EndNote, F1000W and Mendeley classes as well as private consultations for assistance with these programs.
Publication
- Open Access and Scholarly CommunicationsGuide from the UNC Health Sciences Library that defines open access and provides resources for exploring open access publishing at UNC-CH and beyond.
- Measure Your Research ImpactGuide from the UNC Health Sciences Library with information on: journal impact; author impact, such as the h-index; author identifiers, such as ORCID; and altmetrics.
- ScopusCitation and abstracting database that covers medical, scientific, social science, arts and humanities literature. Scopus provides citation metrics for individual authors and journals. Journal metrics include SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) and Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP). Enter Onyen and password to access.
- Copyright BasicsGuide from the UNC Health Sciences Library that provides a selected set of resources to help scholars navigate the intricacies of copyright policy and law.
- Contact Scholarly Communications OfficerContact Anne Gilliland, the Scholarly Communications Officer at the UNC-CH libraries. The Scholarly Communications Officer is available to provide guidance on copyright, fair use, open access, author's rights and related issues.
- The NIH Public Access Policy and YouComprehensive guide from the UNC Health Sciences Library. Provides details on what the policy is, who it applies to, submission methods and managing compliance with My NCBI.
- Ask a LibrarianIf you are having trouble managing compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy, or have questions about the Policy, please contact the UNC Health Sciences Library.