Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

Tax Law

Newsletters

Because tax law is a rapidly changing field, there are several newsletters available to keep interested readers up to date on these matters.  Organized by database below is a listing of resources that are available through the Law Library.

Bloomberg

Daily Tax Report.  This newsletter publishes daily updates about current developments in tax law by providing the latest news, the recent topics, and insights.  While this specific report includes federal tax updates, there is also a daily tax report for state updates as well.

IRS Practice Advisor Report. Published monthly, this report details everything that you would want to know about the IRS including procedural developments, position, trends, and techniques.

State Developments Tracker.  If you're interested in getting the daily developments for a range of state tax topics, then this is an excellent place to begin.

Tax Management Memorandum. This resource covers biweekly  issues, developments, trends, and strategies in reporting.  Articles are written by experts in the field of tax law.

Tax Management Weekly Report.  Published by the Bureau of National Affairs, this tax report provides weekly updates in tax law regarding news, insights, and technical developments.

Lexis Advance

Federal Tax Day.   This newsletter provides daily updates about federal tax law.

Federal Tax WeekIn contrast to the above resource, this newsletter reports and analyzes tax developments on a weekly basis.  Written by a team of tax lawyers and accountants, it covers IR and Department Tax Guidance, tax litigation and Congressional developments, and tax planning news and trends.

Law360 Tax Authority.  This legal news service offers relevant tax updates as they appear in the news. 

Tax Watch. This quarterly newsletter provides commentary and updates on current trends in tax news.

Freely Available

IRS GuideWire If you subscribe to this freely available service, you will be able to receive notifications for updates to IRS-issued regulations, as well as links to these changes in the archives.

Journals and Periodicals

There are numerous tax law journals and periodicals that contain useful, current information about tax law.  If you're generally looking for tax law related articles, the Current Index to Legal Periodicals is an excellent place to start for some of the most recently published tools. Otherwise,  well-respected journals have been listed below as good starting places as well.

Akron Tax Journal. K1 .K774. (available electronically via Westlaw Edge).  This student-edited journal contains articles, notes, and symposioum contributions from experts in the tax field.

Florida Tax Review. K6 .L74. (available electronically via HeinOnline). This faculty -edited academic law review publishes articles, essays, and book reviews related to tax law by leading legal academics, practitioners, and economists.

Journal of Taxation. K10 .O97679.  (available electronically via Westlaw Edge).  This journal is published monthly and has a reputation for informing readers about the latest tax law developments.

Major Tax Planning. KF6289.A2 T392. (available electronically via Lexis Advance). This journal is an excellent tool for providing the latest federal and California tax planning strategies through practice oriented articles.

National Tax Journal. K14 .A754.  (available electronically via Business Source Premier).  Published 3 times a year, this journal contains articles about research on government tax and expenditure policies and the implications of these policies.

Practical Tax StrategiesK16 .R33.  (available electronically via Westlaw Edge).  Stay informed about current tax issues with this journal that provides articles written by practitioners to help understand current changes and concepts in tax law.

The Tax AdviserK24 . A85.  (available electronically via Factiva).  This practitioner journal provides guidance with current, in-depth guidance on federal and state tax developments.

TaxesK24 . A985. (available electronically via HeinOnline).  This magazine is published monthly and provides readers with practice-oriented analyses of federal, state, and international tax issues.

Tax Law Review. K24 . A9413. (available electronically via HeinOnline).  Published 4 times a year, this faculty-edited law school journal publishes articles and essays from leading experts in the tax field.

The Tax Lawyer. K24 . A943. (available electronically via LexisAcademic). Scholarly articles by tax attorneys and professors as well as key reports by Section of Taxation committees and task forces, this is an excellent journal for staying current on tax law.