Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law Library Homepage About the Law Library Research Services Faculty Students Help Ask a Law Librarian Law Library Home page UNC Libraries Law Library Blog Twitter

Tax Law

Online Practice Centers

Online Practice Centers are useful resources for practitioners and researchers alike.  These "all-in-one stops" provide access  to the primary sources along with helpful annotations and insight from experts in the field.  Some of these centers also provide helpful resources like tax calendars, practice tools, forms, and checklists for everyday use.

Bloomberg Law's Tax Practice Center 

 This practice center features a variety of resources from Bloomberg Law as a whole that includes agency materials, federal documents and opinions, and practice guidance and tools.  Several PDFs of several federal tax forms from between 2012-2017 are available for download.

Cheetah Practice Area - Tax

Cheetah's Practice Area for tax is particularly in-depth and has practical guidance dedicated to Federal, International, State & Local, and Estates, Gifts, and Trusts.  Within each section, you can select from the legislation, analysis, statutes, and regulations to receive practical guidance in a variety of areas.

Lexis Advance Tax

This comprehensive practice center holders everything from statutes, regulations, cases, and legislation, and journals and conference papers.  These resources are further supported by detailed annotations.

Lexis Practice Advisor - Tax

Lexis Practice Advisor provides specialized tools in several topic areas.  Included in the tax practice area are practice notes, forms, checklist, clauses, and a glossary.  The helpful links along the left can help you narrow down the guidance to your area of interest.

Westlaw Practical Law - Tax

This tool for practicing attorneys provides standard updates, checklists, guidelines, and standard documents and clauses related to tax law.  The "Resource Type" filter along the left side of the screen allows filtering to the type of material you are most interested in examining.

U.S. Master Tax Guide (WoltersKluwer)

This resource has explanations of federal income taxes for individuals, corporations, estates and trusts along with new rules from key court decisions and the IRS.

***TaxAnalysts***

While the Law Library does not have access to TaxAnalysts, this resource is a highly respected weekly publisher of tax magazines and daily online journals regarding tax policy and tax administration. For those who might have access to it, this is a recommended resource.

 

Practice Guides

Practice guides are excellent resources to turn to for guidance in a certain area of law.  Typically, these guides also typically provide useful forms, language, and input from attorneys in the field who understand these areas. 

Federal Tax Coordinator

Offers a detailed and comprehensive analysis of all Federal tax laws, regulations, relevant court cases, and IRS rulings and releases. The expert analysis is supported by extensive and detailed citations to controlling authorities.

Federal Tax Handbook

This resource provides tax and accounting professionals with important coverage of the TCJA as well as subsequently issued guidance implementing this massive and complex law, including regulatory guidance, new forms and instructions. 

If you click on the link above to access this resource, you'll be directed to RIA Checkpoint.  In the search box on the right side of the screen, type in "Federal Tax Handbook" to browse through the full text or table of contents.

U.S. Tax Master Guide (Also available in print KF6369.6 .C65).

The U.S. Master Tax Guide provides helpful and practical guidance on today's federal tax law.

Forms

As there are several tax specific forms, these resources provide easy access to practical tools.  Additionally, many of the practice guides listed above also provide access to forms.

American Jurisdprudence Legal Forms 2d - Federal Tax Guide to Legal Forms.

This comprehensive set of American Jurisprudence legal forms allows clear, accurate, and informed application of more than 22,000 legal documents. Arranged alphabetically, each title contains form drafting guides, notes on use, and copious sample forms

Bittker, Emory & Streng: Federal Income Taxation of Corporations & Shareholders: Forms.  (Thomson Reuters, 2010-). (Also available in print KF6462 .B5 4th v.1.).

Full text of Federal Income Taxation of Corporations and Shareholders: Forms, a companion to the treatise Federal Income Taxation of Corporations and Shareholders. The forms are organized transactionally around the life cycle of a corporation, and each form is preceded by expert commentary highlighting the tax consequences of each transaction.

Internal Revenue Service's website

This resources has a host of the most current forms freely available for download.  It also provides helpful instructions on how to select the form that works best for your needs.

McGaffey Legal Forms with Tax Analysis

McGaffey Legal Forms with Tax Analysis is a nine volume forms set organized in a simple, easy to use format. The 25 chapters are organized by different areas of law. The set covers Corporate Structure, Compensation, Acquisitions, Reorganizations, Redemptions, Estate and Personal Planning, Partnerships, Tax Shelters and Real Estate.

Murphy's Will Clauses: Annotations and Forms with Tax Effects

Made for estate and gift taxation, this resource has useful examples and forms necessary for practice.

Rabkin & Johnson's Current Legal Forms with Tax Analysis.  (Also available in print KF170 .R32).

Updated annually online, this resource provides the most current legal forms and insight into tax analysis.

Robinson Relal Estate Forms: Tax Analysis & Checklists

This resource discusses the tax implications of real estate transactions, including the sale and exchange of real estate, landlord and tenant issues, mortgage financing and equity financing, and estate planning.

Slatzman & Saltzman: IRS Procedural Forms & Analysis.

This resource provides more than 115 of the most up-to-date forms and demonstrates how to select and prepare information and procedural forms for all taxpayer types, including individuals, corporations, partnerships, employers and employees, fiduciaries, trusts and estates.