CHEM 520L: Polymer Chemistry Lab: Home

Home

The Chemical Literature

If you don't have a SciFinder account, register here.

SciFinderⁿ
Tool for scientist, contains information on chemical reactions, substances and references. Information on organic and inorganic substances and sequences. Broad range of scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science
Access: Students, faculty, and staff or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-CH with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.

Coverage: 1967-present
REAXYS
A search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data, and chemical reactions in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry. Site interface allows search for chemicals by keyword and provides in depth detail for results. Reaxys integrates content from three major data sources: Beilstein, Gmelin, and the Chemical Patent Database
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Google Scholar
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Scopus
A large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Polymer References

EBOOKS FROM THE LIBRARY

Principles of Polymerization by George Odian
ISBN: 0471478741
Publication Date: 2004-03-25
Polymer Analysis by Barbara H. Stuart
ISBN: 0470511354
Publication Date: 2008-04-30

PRINT BOOKS AVAILABLE IN THE LIBRARY

Polymer Handbook by J. Brandrup (Editor); Edmund H. Immergut (Editor); E. A. Grulk (Editor); A. Abe (Editor); D. Bloch (Editor)
ISBN: 0471166286
Publication Date: 1999-03-08
The Polymer Data Handbook by James E. Mark
ISBN: 9780195181012
Publication Date: 2009-05-22

Safety and Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)

UNC Chemical Safety Information
Chemical Safety works to anticipate, recognize, evaluate, and control personnel exposures to chemical hazards.
OSHA Hazard Communication Standard Pictogram
Hazard Communication Standards (HCS) now include pictograms on labels to alert users of the chemical hazards to which they may be exposed. Here is a chart of the pictograms.
more...less...
Each pictogram consists of a symbol on a white background framed within a red border and represents a distinct hazard(s). The pictogram on the label is determined by the chemical hazard classification.

SDS Sources to Start With

Safety Data Sheets (SDS) contain information on chemicals and their properties along with health, physical, and environmental hazards. As they are provided by manufacturers, there is no centralized location so you may have to look in multiple places. Begin with the sources listed:

SDS Search (National MSDS Repository)
SDS plus CHEMINFO
A comprehensive collection of over 200,000 Material Safety Data Sheets for chemicals and commercial products.
UNC Environment, Health and Safety
More information and resources for SDS.

Writing and Citing

ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
This online style guide resource provides students, researchers, educators and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication (publications, presentations, data conventions and communicating with the public).

Write Like a Chemist by Marin S. Robinson; Fredricka L. Stoller; Molly Constanza-Robinson; James K. Jones
ISBN: 9780195367423
Write Like a Chemist is a guide to chemistry-specific writing. It offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal.