SPAN 385.001: La ficción hispanoamericana contemporánea: Home
Collection Description
The Latin American and Iberian collections of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill support the broad range of research needs of Carolina's faculty and students in these world areas. Our holdings of over 500,000 volumes are primarily held in the Walter Royal Davis Library, the central library for the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The strenghth of the collections complement the research interests of the many graduate programs in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to acquiring materials in Spanish and Portuguese, our collections include volumes in several of the Maya languages, Guaraní, Galician, Catalán and Haitian Creole, among others.
Based on a long-standing cooperative agreement with Duke Univerity, UNC-Chapel Hll collects core materials from all Latin American countries, as well as research-level materials from Argentina, Brazil (humanities and literature), Chile, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Haiti, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Uruguay and Venezuela.
Writing
Visit UNC's Writing Center to make appointments, find writing tips, and access to relevant handouts
MLA Handbook for Citing
MLA Handbook by ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016-04-01The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbookprovided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Citing
Library Data Services
Librarian for Latin America, Iberia and Latina/o Studies, American Indian and Indigenous Studies
