Chemistry: Handbooks, Data & Protocols
Handbooks
- The ACS Style Guide: Effective communication of scientific information (2006)A guide to scientific publication published by the American Chemical Society. Online Access through acs.org.
- MSDS plus CHEMINFOA comprehensive collection of over 200,000 Material Safety Data Sheets for chemicals and commercial products. Each MSDS is presented exactly as provided by the manufacturer/supplier and contains chemical and physical properties, health hazards, first aid recommendations, personal protection, fire and reactivity data, spill and disposal procedures, and storage/handling recommendations. This database also includes CHEMINFO, which contains chemical profile information for more than 1,300 important workplace chemicals.
Note: UNC-Chapel Hill Department of Environment, Health & Safety is the subscriber to this database. Please contact the Dept. if you have questions about the database or other items related to chemical hygiene.
- Knovel Critical TablesKnovel Critical Tables contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties compiled from publicly-available web sources and non-copyrighted publications. The physical property tables include 21,000 organic and inorganic compounds and pure substances, the solvent property tables include 385 common solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables include over 15,000 compounds.
- NIST Chemistry WebBookThe NIST Chemistry WebBook is a database of thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) under the Standard Reference Data Program
Finding Data
These are just a few of the resources you can use to locate research data. Guidelines for citing data sets vary; see specific data resources for more information about citations.
- ChemSpiderA free structure database from the Royal Society of Chemistry, with millions of substances linked to freely available data from sources like PubMed and PubChem, RSC publications, and ChemIDPlus (NLM), as well as publicly available data from GlaxoSmithKline, National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), and Sigma-Aldrich, as well as data supplied by researchers.
- ChemSpider Synthetic Pages (CSSP)ChemSpider SyntheticPages is a free database of practical procedures for research workers in synthetic chemistry. The database is searchable by text terms or chemical structure..
- NIST Physical Reference DataChemical datasets from the Physical Measurement Laboratory, including spectroscopic, nuclear, and energy data
- Polymers: A Property Database
- Searchable database of scientific and commercial information on synthetic and natural polymers, monomers and polymeric structures
- Database can be searched using 92 possible properties in any desired combination
- Sigma-AldrichChemical supplier Sigma Aldrich provides access to MSDS data and CAS numbers for many substances.
- Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.
- DataCite SearchDataCite is a registry of research data repositories.This search tool allows researchers to search for data sets by author, keyword, and more.
- FigshareFigshare is a web service that makes data "citable, searchable, and shareable." Research data in a variety of formats is freely available through the figshare search tool and is protected under a Creative Commons copyright license.
- NIH Data Sharing RepositoriesA summary of data repositories supported by the NIH, with information about how to submit and access datasets from NIH-funded research.
- SciFindern
- Information from the Chemical Abstracts Service databases
- Tool for chemists, contains information on chemical reactions, substances and references
- Information on organic and inorganic substances and sequences
- Broad range of scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science
Note: Users must first register with their UNC email accounts before accessing this resource. Register: https://login.libproxy.lib.unc.edu/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=22CACA07X86F35055X223F8A761E25479081 - REAXYS
- A search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data, and chemical reactions in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry
- Site interface allows search for chemicals by keyword and provides in depth detail for results
- Reaxys integrates content from three major data sources: Beilstein, Gmelin, and the Chemical Patent Database
- re3data
- Global registry of research data repositories.
- Consolidated registry of Databib and re3data.org.
- Subject area is broad including the humanities, sciences, medicine and technology.
- Useful for finding appropriate repositories for the storage and access of data sets.
Lab Protocols
- Nature ProtocolsA journal publishing protocols primarily in biology and chemistry, online accessible from 2006 - present.
- Cold Spring Harbor protocolsArchive of protocols and research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE)A peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal publishing biological research in a video format; focuses on life science and biomedical research and research methods, allowing life scientists to more easily earn, perfect, and apply new experimental techniques. Fully available sections: JoVE Medicine, JoVE Biology, JoVE Bioengineering, JoVE Neuroscience, JoVE Immunology & Infection.
Contact for Help
Therese Triumph
she/her/hers
orcid.org/0000-0001-5494-4574
Connect with us
