A web-based e-text system designed to present a comprehensive collection of ancient Chinese texts, particularly those relating to Chinese philosophy, in a well-structured and properly cross-referenced manner, making the most of the electronic medium to aid in the study and understanding of these texts. Text scope spans pre-Qin and Han works covering topics in Confucianism to mathematics, to post-Han classics and Republican era works.
Access: No restrictions. Language: English, Chinese
A collection of databases of traditional and excavated ancient Chinese texts, produced by the Research Center for Chinese Ancient Texts at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. It provides searchable full text and some image files for a wide range of early Chinese materials.
Note: Derivative works are not allowed unless prior written approval from CUHK has been obtained.
In compliance with the CHANT database license agreement, citations to this resource are required to include the full information as shown below: “This material is retrieved from the Site which was developed by the D. C. Lau Research Centre for Chinese Ancient Texts, the Institute of Chinese Studies, a division of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (“CUHK”) in whom all proprietary rights reside. The Site is protected by copyright laws and international copyright treaties, as well as other intellectual property laws and treaties. No part of the Site shall be reproduced or adapted without prior written permission approved by CUHK.”
Access: Students, faculty, and staff or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-CH with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.
A database that contains documents originally housed in the storerooms of the Grand Secretariat of the Qing dynasty (1644-1912). After 1949 these documents were kept at the Institute of History and Philology of Academia Sinica. The entire archive contains about 310,000 items. The collection, dating from the Ming dynasty to the Qing dynasty (1368-1912), encompasses a wide variety of subjects. For full content coverage, see "Grand Secretariat Archives - Inventory and History of Preservation". Also, portions of the archives had been published under title: Ming Qing dang an.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Unaffiliated first-time users must access on UNC-Chapel Hill campus and may write down the username, password Language: English, Chinese
Hytung Ancient Books database contains a large volume of Chinese classics and archaeological materials with over 1 billion characters and 5 million book images, in subjects, such as, Chinese dictionaries, history, etymologies, literature, archaeological writings, etc., .many of which are unique to this database. The database is full-text searchable with both traditional and simplified Chinese character.
Note: Limited to 2 simultaneous users
Language: Chinese Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.