Award-winning literary scholar and poet Yunte Huang here gathers together an intimate and authoritative selection of significant works, in outstanding translations, from nearly fifty Chinese writers, ... (see more)
Paper Republic established in 2007 as a forum for translators of Chinese literature to share information about Chinese books and authors, and discuss how to get them translated and published abroad.
The database is searchable in Chinese and Pinyin by authors, translators, publishers and works
Renditions, a Chinese University of Hong Kong publication, is a journal of Chinese literature in English translation, covering over 2000 years of Chinese literature from classical works of poetry, prose, and fiction to recently published works by writers representing the rich variety of contemporary Chinese literary expression.
Also available in print.
The Siku Quanshu (Complete Library of the Four Branches of Literature) was compiled during the years 1773-1782 under an edict from Emperor Qianlong. It covers a wide range of subjects including the classics, history, literature, philosophy, geography, politics, governmental rules and regulations, economics, society, astronomy, science, technology, medicine, and more. It is the most comprehensive encyclopedia of Chinese scholarship from antiquity to the 18th century. The Wenyuange edition is the first copy, produced in 1782, and is now kept in Taiwan.
Note: This resource is available for ON-campus use only. You must download the special client software from the link to use this resource. After the software is installed, log in via IP access. Not included in Quick E-Book Search.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Language: Chinese
A database that contains documents originally housed in the storerooms of the Grand Secretariat of the Qing dynasty (1644-1912). After 1949 these documents were kept at the Institute of History and Philology of Academia Sinica. The entire archive contains about 310,000 items. The collection, dating from the Ming dynasty to the Qing dynasty (1368-1912), encompasses a wide variety of subjects. For full content coverage, see "Grand Secretariat Archives - Inventory and History of Preservation". Also, portions of the archives had been published under title: Ming Qing dang an.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Unaffiliated first-time users must access on UNC-Chapel Hill campus and may write down the username, password Language: English, Chinese
A database containing about 430 full-text Chinese pre-modern works in all subject areas. Major works include 二十五史, 明實錄, 清實錄, 大清會典事例, all titles in 十通, 大正新脩大藏經, 全上古三代秦漢三國六朝文, 全唐文, etc. New content is added regularly.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Language: English, Chinese
A web-based e-text system designed to present a comprehensive collection of ancient Chinese texts, particularly those relating to Chinese philosophy, in a well-structured and properly cross-referenced manner, making the most of the electronic medium to aid in the study and understanding of these texts. Text scope spans pre-Qin and Han works covering topics in Confucianism to mathematics, to post-Han classics and Republican era works.
Access: No restrictions. Language: English, Chinese
A database hosted by the McGill-Harvard-Yenching Library, providing access to scholarly research the valuable collection of writings by women of the Ming-Qing period in the holdings of the Harvard-Yenching Library.