City & Regional Planning Research Guide: Home
This guide highlights city & regional planning resources available from the University Library.
What is in this guide?
This guide highlights city and regional planning resources available from the University Library.
There is a page for each of the planning research themes in which our faculty specializes. Each page links to interdisciplinary resources as well as pertinent subject-specific article databases and resources selected for each of the research themes.
- Transportation Planning
- Economic Development
- Land Use & Environmental Planning
- Placemaking & Real Estate Development
- Housing & Community Development
- GIS & Data
This "Home" page provides resources useful for all geographers regardless of specialization. Here you'll find resources for writing in geography, a small selection of electronic journals, and information about Carolina BLU.
Interdisciplinary Article Databases
- Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses
General Planning Resources
- Census Data ResourcesA guide to resources for manipulating and extracting census data.
- Library E-ResourcesAccess article databases (such as EconLit, GEOBASE, and PAIS), specialized planning collections (ICUD, NTL, and ULI Development Case Studies), and guides to conducting research in all areas of planning.
Writing in Planning
See what other students have written:
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of North Carolina at Chapel HillProvides indexing and some full text access to dissertations completed here at Chapel Hill and submitted to the Dissertations Abstracts database. It provides citations for Chapel Hill dissertation from the 1920s and Masters theses from 1966 on.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses
Advice from the Experts- Take a look at these books available at UNC Libraries:
GIS Librarian
Carolina BLU
Can't find the article, book, or report you need? Look for the truck!
REQUEST:- materials from other libraries (interlibrary loan)
- books for campus delivery
- checked out books (recall)
- books from storage
- articles for delivery
Citing
- Citing Information TutorialSelf-paced tutorials on citation and avoiding plagiarism. Citation styles covered include APA, MLA, Chicago (Turabian), and CBE/CSE. These citations should be verified before turning in for a grade.
- Citation BuilderThe Citation Builder allows students to easily enter information about a resource (author, title, publication, etc.) and generate a citation in APA, MLA, and CBE/CSE citation styles. These citations should be verified before turning in for a grade.
- Style Sheet from the Annals of American GeographersThese notes cover quirks of AAG house style and CMS points commonly overlooked.
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThe Chicago Manual of Style is the preferred style of the Annals of the American Association of Geographers. Access the Manual online via the Library's catalog.
- ZoteroZotero is a free reference management system where you can collect, manage, cite, and share research. They offer two options. One is an extension for the Firefox web-browser. The second is a Windows only stand-alone client.
- How To Cite DataA library guide with information on how to cite data sets.