Clinical Laboratory Science: Evidence Based Practice
This guide was developed by the Health Sciences Library in collaboration with the Division of Clinical Laboratory Science.
Created by Health Science Librarians
Evidence-Based Clinical Laboratory Science
Evidence Based Practice: Multidisciplinary Resources
- PICOPICO clarifies and focuses questions that arise during a patient assessment. It identifies and organizes the key aspects of a complex patient presentation to help you brainstorm keywords for your literature search, refine your search for the best results, and save time.
Databases and EBP Content Collections
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)AHRQ is the health services research arm of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, complementing the biomedical research mission of the National Institutes of Health. The Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers & Systems (CAHPS) program is a public-private initiative to develop standardized surveys of patients experiences with ambulatory and facility-level care. The surveys offer national benchmarks for quality measures that are of interest to researchers and individual hospitals.
- Cochrane LibraryLeading source for full-text systematic reviews in health care. Searches a collection of databases that includes the CDSR, CENTRAL, Clinical Answers, and selected reviews from Epistemonikos. RCTs are from Medline, Embase, ClinicalTrials.gov, the WHO ICTRP, CINAHL (since 2020) and more. Click on "Search Limits" or the Browse tab to select content from a specific database.
- The Campbell CollaborationHelps people make well-informed decisions by preparing, maintaining and disseminating systematic reviews in education, crime and justice, and social welfare.An international research network based on voluntary cooperation among researchers of a variety of backgrounds.
- ECRI Guidelines TrustECRI Institute, an independent, nonprofit patient safety organization, has launched the ECRI Guidelines Trust™, a portal to expertly vetted, evidence-based guideline briefs and scorecards.
ECRI Institute developed the new resource in response to urgent pleas from healthcare professionals after substantial federal funding cuts forced the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) to shut down the National Guideline Clearinghouse™ (NGC). ECRI had developed and maintained the NGC website for 20 years.
- TRIP Database : the Search Engine for Evidence-Based MedicineOpen access clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
- What Works Clearinghouse: Publications and ReviewsRigorous and relevant evidence on which to ground education practice and policy from the Institute of Education Sciences' (IES), research arm of the US Department of Education.
- DynaMedDynaMed Plus is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. Content is written by a team of physicians and researchers who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis
EBP Tutorials and Tools
- Introduction to Evidence-Based PracticeThis tutorial is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence Based Medicine. Developed by Duke University Medical Center Library and the Health Sciences Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
- Evidence-Based Practice: Methods, Models, & Tools for Mental Health ProfessionalsDetailed guidance discuss how to understand, evaluate, and implement and implement evidence-based practice from psychologists and psychiatrists. By Stout, C.E. & R.A. Hayes. John Wiley & Sons. 2005
- Evidence-Based Medicine Toolkit (U Alberta)From the University of Alberta, this is a collection of tools for identifying, assessing and applying relevant evidence for better health care decision-making.
- JAMAevidenceProvides tools for students and clinicians to evaluate and interpret medical literature and better understand the principles of Evidence Based Practice/Medicine, including the books Users' Guides to Medical Literature, The Rational Clinical Examination , etc.
- CASP (Critical Appraisal Skills Program) Knowledge HubIncludes critical appraisal checklists for key study designs; glossary of key research terms; key links related to evidence based healthcare, statistics, and research; a bibliography of articles and research papers about CASP and other critical appraisal tools and approaches 1993-2012.
- CEBM/Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine, University of Oxford ResourcesScroll down resources page EBM guides and practice how-to's for researchers, clinicians, students and teachers.
- Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice Tutorial (UNC & Duke)From UNC and Duke University, this tutorial is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-Based Medicine
- SUMSearch2SUMSearch 2 simultaneoulsy searches for studies(original studies and systematic reviews), and practice guidelines.