Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

Company Research: Data, Historical, M&A, Biographies

Company & Financial Data

Need to download and analyze large sets of company or financial data? Start here.

LSEG Workspace
Source for information on publicly traded U.S. and international companies: summary financial data with links to company filings, key ratios actual and forward estimates, stock pricing data, key corporate events, officers and directors, analyst rating, and analyst "Aftermarket" reports (formerly Investext). Aftermarket Reports contain full-text industry and company reports written by investment bank analysts. More than 1.2 million reports available back to 1982.

NOTE: Users must first self-register with their UNC email for a user account before accessing this resource. Please consult: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420 for detailed directions on self-registering for a user account.
User must always authenticate, even when on campus. Please contact Nancy Lovas with any questions.
Access: Student, Faculty and Staff with current UNC status, and an email ending with one of the following email domains: @unc.edu, @kenan-flagler.unc.edu, or @email.unc.edu, may set up a user account and access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus. Please consult: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420 for detailed directions on self-registering for a user account.
Eikon
Provides daily pricing, volume, and performance information on equities, market stock and bond indices, macroeconomic data series, foreign exchange rates, daily and weekly interest rates, fixed income instruments, financial and commodity futures and options contracts. Time coverage varies, but many series are available in daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annual intervals for up to 10 years or longer.
Access: On Campus only. Available by contacting Nancy Lovas for assistance with access at: nancy64@email.unc.edu. No off campus access.
Coverage: Varies; some major data series start in the 1950s. Updated daily.

Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)
Capital IQ allows users to search for and screen for information on companies including in-depth financial information on publicly traded companies, information on investment firms, biographical information on corporate professionals, and transactions in both the public and private capital markets by a very wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executive’s biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. (Source Vendor Web site)

Information can be exported to Excel.

SPECIAL NOTE: Because of licensing restrictions: Access to Capital IQ is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School.
more...less...
Users MUST use their @kenan-flagler.unc.edu email address when requesting an account.

Users MUST access through UNC Kenan-Flagler Research Tools & Library Resources web page. DO NOT bookmark the S&P Capital IQ login page.

Users will be required to enter their UNC onyen from both on-campus and off-campus. Then users will be able to enter their Capital IQ user id and password.

If you have any questions please contact David Ernsthausen.
COMPUSTAT Global
Annual and quarterly financial and market data for hundreds of data items, ratios and concepts. Covers publicly traded companies. Data sets have been designed to reflect the varieties of actual reporting practices used across the globe, while allowing for minimal normalization and establishing consistency on an item by item basis for Non-North American companies.

Compustat Global is accessed through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.

Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.
more...less...
To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.

UNC-CH users with additional password

https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/
Factset
Real-time analytics, research, and market data.

Special Note: Because of License Restrictions, FactSet access is limited to computers in the Kenan-Flagler Business School’s Capital Markets Lab (room 2550) in the McColl Building.
more...less...
UNC Kenan-Flagler Capital Markets Lab

Factiva
Contains major global newspapers, business newspapers and magazines, trade and industry journals, prominent newswires, and network broadcast transcripts. In the Companies/Markets tab, there are global company reports, limited industry reports, and market data. The results pages allow robust filtering, and there is live chat help.

Note: 5 Concurrent User Limit
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies. 9,000 sources are updated on the day of publication.
Language: Primarily English. Over 20 languages total.
Value Line Research Center
Source for investment research covering thousands of stocks, mutual funds, daily options, and convertible issues. The Value Line Investment Survey ranks stocks on many metrics and includes historical and projected prices, financials, and a quarterly analyst opinion. The Investment Education section includes a glossary, and the Value Line University introduces basics of investment, analysis, and the stock market.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Most recent 3 years of quarterly reports.
Osiris
Contains information on over 110,000 publicly traded companies, banks, and insurance companies from around the world, including financial statement data. Provides ownership, subsidiaries, earnings estimates, stock data. Report formats reflect accounting procedures in the major world regions.

Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1996 - present

Mergers and Acquisitions

CB Insights
Provides information and independent analysis of private companies in a wide range of industries. A special focus on the financing, and mergers and acquisitions of these companies through private investors and venture capital and private equity firms.

Note:Users must register an account with a UNC email address. Contact Kenan Flagler Library Research Services at Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu with questions.

Access: Students, faculty, and staff or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-CH with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.
VitalLaw (CCH IntelliConnect)
Provides comprehensive federal and state tax information, including tax codes, regulations, court cases, IRS publications, editorial commentary and explanation.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Orbis M&A
Covers mergers and acquisitions, initial public offerings, private equity, and venture capital deals and rumors. Global coverage includes European deals from 1997, North American deals from 2000, and Other Global Areas deals from 2003. Search by deal elements such as deal type, geography, industry, company financials, and multiples. Analyze deals in tables and graphs.

Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser
Note: Disable pop-up blockers to use this resource.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
SDC Platinum
Note: SDC Platinum is now a module that can be added to an LSEG Workspace account. Please contact Nancy Lovas to have the module added to your account. If you do not have an LSEG Workspace account you can request one here https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420. Then email Nancy with your request for SDC access.

Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)
Capital IQ allows users to search for and screen for information on companies including in-depth financial information on publicly traded companies, information on investment firms, biographical information on corporate professionals, and transactions in both the public and private capital markets by a very wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executive’s biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. (Source Vendor Web site)

Information can be exported to Excel.

SPECIAL NOTE: Because of licensing restrictions: Access to Capital IQ is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School.
more...less...
Users MUST use their @kenan-flagler.unc.edu email address when requesting an account.

Users MUST access through UNC Kenan-Flagler Research Tools & Library Resources web page. DO NOT bookmark the S&P Capital IQ login page.

Users will be required to enter their UNC onyen from both on-campus and off-campus. Then users will be able to enter their Capital IQ user id and password.

If you have any questions please contact David Ernsthausen.

Historical Company Research

Mergent Archives
Includes corporate histories, financial statements, subsidiaries, long-term debt, and company officers and directors. Resources include the Transportation Manual 1909-present; Public Utility Manual 1914-2007; Industrial Manual 1920-present; Bank and Finance Manual 1928-present; OTC Industrial Manual 1970-present; International Manual 1981-present; OTC Unlisted Manual 1986-present; and Municipal and Government Manual 1955-present.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Mergent Historical Annual Reports
Contains annual reports in PDF for companies in the U.S., Canada, and some European countries. Coverage varies by company. Some reports are from more than 100 years ago.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Directory of Corporate Archives USA and Canada
This includes companies that maintain their historical records themselves, as well as companies that contract with historical consulting firms to maintain their archives collections for them, and libraries that contain business records.
Annual Reports at Academic Business Libraries
This database was created and is maintained by Purdue University Libraries. It presents a merged list of the corporate annual reports held at twelve university libraries and can be searched by keyword or by university.

Executive Biographies

Osiris
Contains information on over 110,000 publicly traded companies, banks, and insurance companies from around the world, including financial statement data. Provides ownership, subsidiaries, earnings estimates, stock data. Report formats reflect accounting procedures in the major world regions.

Note: This resource does not currently work with Chrome browser
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1996 - present

Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)
Capital IQ allows users to search for and screen for information on companies including in-depth financial information on publicly traded companies, information on investment firms, biographical information on corporate professionals, and transactions in both the public and private capital markets by a very wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executive’s biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. (Source Vendor Web site)

Information can be exported to Excel.

SPECIAL NOTE: Because of licensing restrictions: Access to Capital IQ is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School.
more...less...
Users MUST use their @kenan-flagler.unc.edu email address when requesting an account.

Users MUST access through UNC Kenan-Flagler Research Tools & Library Resources web page. DO NOT bookmark the S&P Capital IQ login page.

Users will be required to enter their UNC onyen from both on-campus and off-campus. Then users will be able to enter their Capital IQ user id and password.

If you have any questions please contact David Ernsthausen.