Researching Confederate Monuments in North Carolina: Monuments in North Carolina

Sampling of dedication speeches and unveiling ceremonies:

• The ideal Confederate soldier, address : unveiling Confederate monument, Cornelius, N.C., August 4th, 1910. North Carolina Collection: Cp970.76 B97i Available online.
• The legacy of the Confederacy : speech accepting the monument to the women of the Confederacy, on the occasion of the unveiling at Raleigh, North Carolina, June 10, 1914. North Carolina Collection: Cp970.76 C88  Available online. 
• Address of Hon. T.W. Mason before the Ladies' Memorial Association at the laying of the corner-stone of the Confederate monument, Raleigh, N.C., May 20, 1895. North Carolina Collection: Cp970.76 M41 Available online. 
• Order of ceremonies of unveiling of Pitt County monument : Friday, November 13th, 1914. North Carolina Collection: Cb369.17 U58g 
• Unveiling of the memorial to the North Carolina Women of the Confederacy. North Carolina Collection: Cp970.76 N87w Available online.  
• United Daughters of the Confederacy. J.E.B. Stuart Chapter (Fayetteville, N.C.). Unveiling of a Marker on the Site of the Confederate Arsenal at Fayetteville, North Carolina. 1928. North Carolina Collection: Cp970.76 F28 Available online.
• Unveiling of the monument to the Confederate soldiers from Caldwell County at Lenoir. North Carolina Collection: C970.741 C59c 
• Unveiling of Fort Fisher Monument, June 2, 1932. North Carolina Collection: Cp970.76 U58u Available online.
• [Invitations to the North Carolina Monumental Association's unveiling of the Confederate monument on May 20, 1895 in Raleigh]. North Carolina Collection: VCp970.76 N87m
• Four invitations from the North Carolina Monumental Association.

The following resources include digitized postcards and photographs depicting images of Civil War and Confederate Monuments, plus some dedication ceremonies:

North Carolina Postcards 

North Carolina Postcards is a project of the North Carolina Collection, located in historic Wilson Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives holds more than 12,000 North Carolina postcards contained primarily in two collections: the North Carolina Postcard Collection and the Durwood Barbour Collection of North Carolina Postcards.

Digital North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives

The North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives (NCCPA) has developed a digitization program specifically designed to provide researchers access to NCCPA materials that have been digitized in recent months and years. This new feature is now available with finding aids for selected collections in the NCCPA. Clicking on a collection name will take you to that collection's finding aid (a descriptive guide to the collection's contents). To search for other NCCPA collections or to gain access to other digitized collections in UNC-Chapel Hill's University Library, please use the online catalog.

Digital Heritage Center

The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program housed in the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historical materials online. The Digital Heritage Center provides libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, and other cultural heritage institutions with the opportunity to promote and increase access to their collections through digitization.

Photographs of monuments and memorials in the Digital Heritage Center site.

Newspapers

Newspapers, both state papers and national level, are invaluable for research on this topic. North Carolina newspapers can be accessed in person at UNC's Wilson Library. UNC affiliates can also access newspapers via databases - please see the "Databases" tab in the North Carolina subject research guide.

Two sites provide public access to North Carolina newspapers: the Digital Heritage Center and Chronicling America.

Example: The Courier (Asheboro, N.C.) - September 07, 1911, CONFEDERATE MONUMENT UNVEILING NUMBER