Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

Drama 120--004: Play Analysis, Fall 2017 (Prof. Adam Versenyi): Play Analysis & Annotated Bibliography

Indexes/Databases for Play Analysis

For advice on compiling an Annotated Bibliography (once you have your critical articles/books), consult the Background Sources.

Articles Plus
Index to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
MLA International Bibliography
A major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.

Search the UNC Catalog for Books on Playwrights & Plays

Use an Author Search for books by a literary author and a Subject Search for books about a literary author:

Author: Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989.

Subject: Beckett, Samuel, 1906-1989.

For topics not limited to a specific author, use a keyword search to identify several relevant books. Then look at the Full Records of these books to identify relevant Library of Congress Subject Headings to expand your search.

Note: LC Subject Headings use the American spelling of "theater" rather than the British spelling, "theatre."