Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

East Asian Collections: Korean Collection

East Asian Librarian

Profile Photo
Hsi Chu Bolick
Contact:
Davis Library Global Resources & Area Studies
Office hours: by appointments
(919) 962-3651
Website

Collection Overview - The Korean Collection

The Korean Collection, a part of the East Asian Collection, began in 2006 when new courses on Korean language and culture were added in the curriculum. Since its establishment, the collection has been quickly expanding beyond the Korean language and literature to subjects in history, Korean diaspora and films. With multiyear grant support from the Korean foundation since the late 2000s, the collection includes two major Korean academic databases, DBpia, and KRpia and an ebook package that cover current S. Korean humanities subjects. The collection adds an average of 500 new titles per year both through active acquisitions and the library gift programs of the Korean Foundation, the Korean National Library, and the Korean National Assembly Library. 

The collection contains a complete set of valuable research title, Yonhaengnok chounjip 燕行錄全集. This title contains extensive travel records of Korean envoys between Korea and China in the 18th century. These travel records presented unique documentations and information many of which are not available in Chinese historiography of the same period. 

Find Korean Material

 

Korean materials at Davis Library are shelved together with other language materials by Call Number (Library of Congress' subject classifications).

The catalog is Searchable using Korean as well as a romanized script for Korean resources. All the computers in Davis Library are able to input Korean scripts.

Keyword search example: 

Resource Highlights