Skip to Main Content

Korea Studies: Get Started

Update for current LibGuide

Collection Overview - The Korean Collection

The Korean Collection, a part of the East Asian Collection, young but actively expanding covers resources for Korean language and literature, history, diaspora, films. The collection includes two major Korean academic databases, DBpia, and KRpia.  We receive an average of more than 500 new titles per year both through active acquisition efforts and the generous gifts of organizations such as the Korean Foundation, the Korean National Library, and the Korean National Assembly Library.

Though our collection is small, it contains valuable research titles such as a complete set of Yonhaengnok chounjip 燕行錄全集.This set of extensive records documenting travels by Korean envoys between Korea and China in the 18th century contain many exotic materials that cannot be found in Chinese historiography of the same period.

The majority of Korean materials are on the several floors at Davis Library with other East Asian ones.

  • Davis Library does not shelve Korean materials separately from materials in other languages but instead integrates all library materials by call number (subject). It appears on the book label or in catalog records in a form such as DS917.4 .T348 2013
  • Call numbers represent subjects of library materials and are assigned to library materials by the Library of Congress Classification Scheme. 
  • The another type of  Korean materials, visual resources (DVDs), are in the Media & Design Center at Undergraduate Library.

Korean Romanization

Korean Resources at UNC Library are searchable in Korean Alphabet as well as in Romanization with McCune-Reischauer system based on pronunciation, which is different from the official or familiar Romanization system in Korea. While the Korean government has changed its official standard several times as the name of the Revised Romanization of Korean, libraries in the United States have been consistently using the McCune-Reischauer Romanization system or the ALA-LC Romanization for Korean.

Virtual professional reference service

How do I search Korean Records?

Start with Keywords or Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH).
Identify relevant books. Click on LCSH given to those titles to find more titles.
Use Advanced Search for precise results

Examples:

LC Subject Heading

Going to the advanced search features in the UNC catalog will let you search for items that UNC has in Korean. You can also specific format (book, film, etc.) that you want to find

  • Last Updated: Sep 28, 2021 12:00 PM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/korean