ECON 486: Gender and Economics: Home
What's in this guide?
This guide curates article databases and data sources for your course assignments in ECON 486. Have a question? Email Nancy, your librarian, or schedule a Zoom meeting to chat.
- Find Articles: search in these databases to find articles
- Find Data: sources for relevant data. Get help with data.
- Research Tutorials: learn research basics.
Keep track of your sources! Use the citation manager Zotero to save your sources and generate citations for your bibliography.
Find Articles
Databases for Articles
- EconLitMain database for economics articles
- GenderWatchDatabase for women's and gender studies articles
- Women's Studies InternationalInterdisciplinary, international database covering the core literature of the field of women's and gender studies with links to full text.
- Sociological AbstractsCatch-all database for articles from sociology, anthropology, economics, education, philosophy, political science, and related disciplines. Not all articles in this database are economics articles.
- National Bureau of Economic Research Working PapersProvides full text of the complete set of working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER).
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalSearch for dissertations and theses from the U.S. In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses
Cite your sources!
- ZoteroBibFast, free bibliography generator (the best around)
- Identifying Plagiarism TutorialThrough this tutorial, you will become more familiar with the issues surrounding plagiarism and will receive instruction on how to address this academic issue.
Find Data
Data Sources- start here
- Sage DataOne-stop shop for many data needs:
Easily search across data sources for statistical data on all subjects. Sources include the U.S. Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, the World Bank and United Nations, the CDC, and more.
- Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)Provides historical U.S. economic and financial data. They also have great blog posts and analysis stories drawn from their data.
- StatistaCompiles statistics & reports on a lot of subjects. Not quite the Google for datasets, but close.
- Social ExplorerEasily access common U.S. Census data
- PolicyMapIncludes social, economic, and demographic variables for the U.S.
Other sources, including international
- World Bank Gender DataA compilation of data on key gender topics from national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and surveys funded or collected by the World Bank.
- OECD Gender Data PortalThe OECD Gender Data Portal includes selected indicators shedding light on gender inequalities in education, employment and entrepreneurship. The data cover 34 OECD member countries, as well as Russia, Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, and South Africa.
- OECD Social Institutions and Gender IndexThe OECD Development Centre’s Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI) is a cross-country measure of discrimination against women in social institutions (formal and informal laws, social norms, and practices) across 160 countries. The SIGI’s variables quantify discriminatory social institutions such as unequal inheritance rights, early marriage, violence against women, and unequal land and property rights.
- Social WatchSocial Watch is an international network of citizens’ organizations in the struggle to eradicate poverty and the causes of poverty, to end all forms of discrimination and racism, to ensure an equitable distribution of wealth and the realization of human rights.
- UNdataSimultaneous access to 14 statistical databases from the United Nations and other international organizations
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsCurrent and historical data on productivity, employment/unemployment, spending and time use, pay and benefits, and more.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Business Research Consultant/Librarian
Nancy Lovas
Contact:
Davis Library
Subjects: Accounting, Banking, Business, Company Information, Country Economics, Country Information, Economic Data/Statistics, Economics, Economics Literature, Entrepreneur/Small Business Information, Global Business, Industry Information, Investment Information, Marketing, Patents, POLI: Political Science, Political Science
Connect with us
