Private Equity & Venture Capital: Home

Home

Purpose of Research Guide

This guide curates information sources for private equity and venture capital research. Use the side menu to navigate to relevant sources.

Want guidance?

Email a business research consultant/librarian:
Nancy Lovas, Davis Library: nancy64@email.unc.edu
David Ernsthausen, Kenan Flagler Business School: David_Ernsthausen@unc.edu
Schedule a consultation appointment with a business librarian.

Private Equity and Venture Capital

Prequin
Private equity venture capital, and real estate deals, funds, investors and fund managers that allows users to analyze data across the entire investment lifecycle. Robust coverage to 2000, limited coverage to 1953. The Private Equity and Venture Capital segments accessible in WRDS. Real Estate segment not in WRDS.
more...less...
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.UNC-CH users only
Capital IQ (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)
Capital IQ allows users to search for and screen for information on companies including in-depth financial information on publicly traded companies, information on investment firms, biographical information on corporate professionals, and transactions in both the public and private capital markets by a very wide range of company identification data, financial statement data, executive’s biographical characteristics, and deal or transaction specifics. (Source Vendor Web site)

Information can be exported to Excel.

SPECIAL NOTE: Because of licensing restrictions: Access to Capital IQ is restricted to current faculty, staff, and students of UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School.
more...less...
Users MUST use their @kenan-flagler.unc.edu email address when requesting an account.

Users MUST access through UNC Kenan-Flagler Research Tools & Library Resources web page. DO NOT bookmark the S&P Capital IQ login page.

Users will be required to enter their UNC onyen from both on-campus and off-campus. Then users will be able to enter their Capital IQ user id and password.

If you have any questions please contact David Ernsthausen.

CB Insights
Provides information and independent analysis of private companies in a wide range of industries. A special focus on the financing, and mergers and acquisitions of these companies through private investors and venture capital and private equity firms.

Note:Users must register an account with a UNC email address.
Access: Students, faculty, and staff or AHEC users affiliated with UNC-CH with an AHEC Digital Library account may access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.

SDC Platinum
Collection of databases for Kenan-Flagler only:
- Global New Issues: information on new issues of stock by public companies as well as information on Initial Public Offerings by previously private companies. For U.S. and non U.S. companies.
- Mergers & Acquisitions Joint Ventures, and Repurchases: information on U.S and Non U.S. deals.
- VentureXpert: venture capital funding information. at the firm, fund and portfolio company level.
- Corporate Restructuring: Full details on U.S bankruptcies from 1988 to the present and Limited information on Bankruptcies from 1980 to 1990. Also information on Exchange offers for U.S. companies.
- Corporate Governance: information on Poison Pills U.S. companies may have but not on Proxy Fights.
- Global Public Finance: information on bonds issued by states, cities, towns, and other subnational issuers.
Special Note: Please contact David Ernsthausen for access information.
The Deal (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)
A transaction information service: follow M&A, pre-auction offerings, private equity transactions, distressed debt opportunities and more.
UNC Kenan-Flagler users only
Special Note: As part of our subscription users may receive any number of daily, weekly and customized newsletters based on their focus area. Once you have your password; just go to set up to make your selections.
Email David Ernsthausen with your requests for an account.

Zephyr
Covers mergers and acquisitions, initial public offerings, private equity, and venture capital deals and rumors. Global coverage includes European deals from 1997, North American deals from 2000, and Other Global Areas deals from 2003. Search by deal elements such as deal type, geography, industry, company financials, and multiples. Analyze deals in tables and graphs.

Note: Disable pop-up blockers to use this resource.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.