Provides searchable access to nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focused on medical disciplines. Also features AHFS Consumer Medication Information. Search results can be limited to Peer Reviewed Journals.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions). Coverage: Coverage varies; Indexing, 1974-present; Full-text, 1990-present
In our case studies, Cheryl is interested in peer-reviewed articles about exercise therapy for teenagers with diabetes. Health Source is a good database for her to search because it contains a broad variety of resources, many of which are available in full-text.
Getting Started with Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
You can access Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition by going to the E-Research by Discipline page, clicking on 'H' and scrolling down to Health Source Plus - Nursing/Academic.
Cheryl is interested in exercise therapies for teenagers with diabetes so she enters diabetes in one box using AND to combine it with exercise in the next box, with teenagers in the next box.
She then uses the Refine Results options on the left hand sided of the results screen to add limits for Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals and published in the last 5 years.
From those results she selects the most relevant articles and temporarily stores them by clicking the folder icon. From folder view Cheryl can email or save these article references.
Both of these articles are available in full-text via the PDF Full Text icon. If no full text links are shown for a particular article that interests her, Cheryl can click on the Find @ UNC button to find out in UNC-Chapel Hill has access to the article through another source.