GEOG 266: Society and Environment in Southeast Asia: Home

The CQ Researcher is the perfect answer for people beginning research on current topics. It covers the most current and controversial issues of the day. From Abortion to War, each issue gives you a comprehensive review of the controversies, historical background, chronology of important events, opposing views from experts on the subject, and extensive bibliographies for additional research.

Contains full text articles on current topics of interest, arranged in opposing points of view. It is intended to give users a quick grasp of the essentials of more than 250 controversial news topics. It also contains chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information.

Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles.

Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.

Index to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.

Citations to articles published worldwide from 1971 for East, Southeast and South Asia. This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Through the 1991 printed version, the BAS included citations to western-language periodical articles, individually authored monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Since 1992, newly published individual monographs are no longer being added to the database, and users seeking monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases (such as RLIN, OCLC's WorldCat, etc.).

Covers worldwide literature on geography, geology, ecology, and related disciplines. Over 2,000 journals are fully covered, and an additional 3,000 are selectively covered. More than 2,000 books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports are also covered.

Subjects include: cartography, hydrology, climatology, meteorology, energy, paleontology, environment, petrology, geochemistry, photogrammetry, geomorphology, sedimentology, geophysics, volcanology. (Source: vendor website.)

A bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes full-text articles.

Covers China, Far East (general), Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Philippine Republic, and Vietnam; China, Japan, and Vietnam make up the largest portion of the collection. Major topics include: the tensions between the People’s Republic of China and the Republic of China; the U.S.’s Two Chinas policy and the Cultural Revolution; the 1964 Olympics; issues pertaining to the Japanese Self Defense Force; the possible reversion of Okinawa to Japan; agricultural commodities shipped to Vietnam as part of the Food for Peace program; relations between Buddhists and the government of Vietnam; and U.S. military intervention and military assistance in Vietnam.

A large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.

UNC Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff now have full, year-round access to The New York Times, including smartphone, tablet, and browser access, thanks to a sponsorship from the University Library. For app downloads, visit NYTimes.com/mobile.

Access DOES include NYT Cooking, but does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users also receive access to the New York Times archives (1851-2002) which includes 5 PDF downloads from the Times Machine per day via timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser. Archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Digital access is available only during the time that our New York Times Site License is active.

To set up your account: Please consult https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nyt-academic-pass for detailed directions on setting up your account.

Covers general, regional, and international news, company and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many files are full-text.

Access articles for the The Washington Post in 15 years of rolling archival content to the present. Available to all UNC students, faculty, and staff.

Note: For remote access, create an individual account here, using your UNC email.

Searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.

Statistics on development indicators back to 1960 from the World Bank. Time series data cover demographic, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental topics for more than 200 countries and geographic and political groupings of countries. Data are updated quarterly. Access through the online dataBank, or in Excel or CSV formats.

Provides the value of merchandise exports and imports between each IMF member country and its trading partners. Also covered are some non-member countries, the world, and regions. Monthly and quarterly data are available starting 1960. Annual data are available starting 1947.

Note: To download data, please create a personal account. To search only in this database select from 'Query within a Dataset'.

UNCTAD is the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development, which collects statistics on almost every world economy. UNCTADStat provides more than 150 time series related to international trade, foreign direct investment, national accounts and balance of payments, inflation and exchange rates, remittances, information and communications technology, creative output, and maritime transport.