Census data provides demographic, income, health insurance coverage, housing, and much other data. This link is to my guide to Census resources. I strongly recommend using the Social Explorer database but this guide both links to that and provides other necessary information. You will need to join data tables into a GIS map.
Scroll down to State-Specific Threats to find several useful databases: Invasive Species Status Report by State; Nonindigenous Aquatic Species Database; and Pest Tracker. The State & Local Government section under the next heading, Selected Resources, also offers links to NC-specific resources.
Useful multi-disciplinary data source. Recommend exploring many categories, but particularly Lending, Quality of Life and Federal Guidelines. Not all tables can be exported: after selecting a layer, click on the down arrow icon above the upper right corner of the map to test. Different variables will have different geographic levels available, depending on how they were collected and are structured. For instance, for the CDC's Social Vulnerability Index, one can select to download the state of North Carolina at either the Census tract or county level. Unsheltered Homeless Population, though, is available at the state or county level but cannot be downloaded for all counties at once.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
"A global partnership of public, private, and civil society organizations convened by World Resources Institute to provide trusted and timely data for a sustainable future." Provides data related to food and agriculture, energy, climate, and society.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password. Coverage: 2013 - Present