GSLL/JWST 56 Germans, Jews and the history of anti-semitism: Books & Articles
Finding Books
Searching the Library Catalog: Tips for Finding Books and Articles
Start by entering a few keywords related to your topic in the library catalog search bar. Once you find a relevant item, check the Subject Headings listed in its record, these are standardized terms that link to other materials on similar topics. Clicking on them is a great way to discover related resources.
Example of Subject Headings
"Judaism -- Germany -- History -- 19th century"
"Jews -- Germany -- Social conditions"
"Jews -- Germany -- History -- 1800-1933"
"Jewish Holocaust (1939-1945)"
"Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) -- Personal narratives"
You can also narrow or expand your search using the filters (called facets) on the left side of the catalog screen:
- Use "Available Online" to find materials you can access remotely.
- Use "Resource Type" to limit results to books, journals, or government documents.
Search Strategies:
- To find books by an author, use an Author search.
- To find books about an author, use a Subject search.
You can also combine these terms with other keywords or search your keywords as subjects.
Expanding Your Search:
- Use the catalog’s filters to include results from Duke, NC State, and NCCU Libraries.
- For even broader results, try searching WorldCat, a global catalog of library collections.
-
WorldCatOCLC's WorldCat is the world's largest union catalog containing of millions bibliographic records for items in the collections of thousands of libraries from many countries. This database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries in several hundred languages.
General and multidisciplinary search options
-
Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
-
Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
-
Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Google Scholar provides the "cited by" feature which traces an article's topic from the time of publication forward.The cited by link will show other articles that have cited this resource. When combined with an article's bibliography, you are then able to locate a project within a scholarly conversation. Be sure to configure your Google Scholar account so that you gain full access to articles provided by the University Libraries.
-
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Subject specific databases
-
20th Century German History Online: National Socialism, Holocaust, Resistance and Exile 1933-1945
Collection of primary sources on the Third Reich, the National Socialist state, the NSDAP, Nazi ideology, and propaganda, both from the point of view of supporters and resisters. Materials include institutional records (courts, secret police, occupied territories administration), biographical and autobiographical sources, and propaganda.
-
ATLA Religion DatabaseA major index to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in the field of religion. The ATLA Religion Database covers over 1,400 journals, including over 600 being currently indexed, and nearly 16,000 collections of essays.
-
Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945
Consists of historical documents from the British National Archives that offer perspectives on politics, diplomacy and every day life in the German-occupied countries.
-
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
Links connect to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries.
-
German Anti-Semitic Propaganda
Comprises 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets and presents anti_Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education. It also includes writings on Jehovah's Witnesses, Jesuits, and the Freemasons.
-
Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. -
Index to Jewish PeriodicalsIndex to Jewish Periodicals provides links to articles that focus on the study of Jewish affairs and Judaism around the world, including Jewish culture, history, literature, religion.
-
Jewish Life in America, c1654-1954Based on original manuscript collections from the holdings of the American Jewish Historical Society in New York. Covers a wide range of dates and topics related to Jewish history in the US, from Early Jewish Settlements in the US through the Civil Rights Movement of the mid-20th Century.
-
Women's Studies InternationalInterdisciplinary, international database covering the core literature of the field of women's and gender studies with links to full text.
-
Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War CrimesProvides documentation of the investigation and prosecution of war crimes by Nazi concentration camp commandants and other personnel. Documents include correspondence, trial records and transcripts, interrogation reports, trial exhibits, photographs of atrocities, newspaper clippings, and pamphlets.
-
Testaments to the HolocaustOver 100,000 images from the renowned collection of the Wiener Library in London, the world's oldest Holocaust memorial institution. Included are eyewitness accounts of anti-semitic and Nazi activity in Germany and Austria; photographs of Jewish life before, during, and after World War II; anti-Semitic propaganda material; Holocaust-related historical publications; and biographical details of major figures in the Nazi Party and SS hierarchies.
Websites
-
The Anti-Defamation LeagueThe Anti-Defamation League was founded in 1913 "to stop the defamation of the Jewish people and to secure justice and fair treatment to all." Now the nation's premier civil rights/human relations agency, ADL fights anti-Semitism and all forms of bigotry, defends democratic ideals and protects civil rights to all.
-
Institute for the Study of Global Antisemitism and PolicyThe Institute for the Study of Global Antisemitism and Policy (ISGAP) is dedicated to the scholarly research of the origins, processes and manifestations associated with antisemitism globally, as well as other forms of prejudice, including racisms, as it relates to policy, in the age of globalization. Through the examination of antisemitism and policy, ISGAP disseminates analytical and scholarly material to help combat hatred and promote understanding.
-
International Institute for Education and Research on AntisemitismFollow programs, conferences, and other work relating to antisemitism.
-
The Simon Wiesenthal CenterThe Simon Wiesenthal Center is a global human rights organization researching the Holocaust and hate in a historic and contemporary context. The Center confronts anti-Semitism, hate and terrorism, promotes human rights and dignity, stands with Israel, defends the safety of Jews worldwide, and teaches the lessons of the Holocaust for future generations.
Reference Resources
-
CQ ResearcherThe CQ Researcher is the perfect answer for people beginning research on current topics. It covers the most current and controversial issues of the day. From Abortion to War, each issue gives you a comprehensive review of the controversies, historical background, chronology of important events, opposing views from experts on the subject, and extensive bibliographies for additional research.
-
Issues and Controversies on FileContains full text articles on current topics of interest, arranged in opposing points of view. It is intended to give users a quick grasp of the essentials of more than 250 controversial news topics. It also contains chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information.
-
Points of View Reference SourceProvides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles.
-
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineProvides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity.
Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.