Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
Global Health Data: Resources
Created by Health Science Librarians
Access to UNC Global Research Data
-
Carolina Digital RepositoryThe Carolina Digital Repository (CDR) is a digital archive for scholarly materials produced by members of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill community. The main goal of the CDR is to keep UNC digital scholarly output safe, accessible and discoverable for as long as needed.
-
Carolina Population Center (CPC)CPC research includes global projects with data downloads.
-
Faculty with International Expertise DatabaseThe University Center for Global Initiatives maintains this searchable database of UNC faculty with international research experience. Contact faculty working in your area to find out if they have datasets that can be used by students.
Global Health Data & Statistics Sites
The resources below are meant to broadly cover global health topics. For resources that are more specific, you may access the resources by topic or resources by region pages.
Dataset Repositories and Search Tools
-
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)The GHDx is a data catalog listing information about microdata, aggregated data, and research results with a focus on health-related and demographic datasets.
-
Google Dataset SearchAround 25 million datasets provided by government, public, and private groups and compiled by Google.
-
Portal of Public Use Datasets on Sub-Saharan AfricaThis data portal was created by the NBER Africa Project, co-directed by Sebastian Edwards, Simon Johnson, and David N. Weil, as a way to systematize public-use data on Sub-Saharan Africa.
-
The Registry of Research Data Repositories (Re3Data))Searchable, browseable, and filterable registry of research data repositories.
-
UNDataA single entry point to United Nations statistical databases.
Global Health Policy
-
KFF U.S. Global Health Legislation TrackerThis tracker provides a listing of global health-related legislation being considered by the current US congressional body.They address topics ranging from global health security to climate change to reproductive health.
-
UN International Human Development IndicatorsData utilized in the preparation of the Human Development Index (HDI).
-
UN Sustainable Development Goals DataSDG Global Database provides access to data on more than 210 SDG indicators for countries across the globe by indicator, country, region, or time period.
-
WHO Global Health Observatory"The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programmes and provides links to supporting information." [provider description]
Data for Global Health Topics
-
Demographic and Health SurveysNational and sub-national data on family planning, maternal and child health, child survival, HIV/AIDS/STIs, infectious diseases, reproductive health and nutrition. Integrated DHS is a web based tool designed to facilitate analysis of DHS data across time and space.
-
Global Cancer Observatory (GCO); formerly CANCERMondialPresents global cancer statistics with a focus on the visualization of cancer indicators to illustrate the changing scale, epidemiological profile, and impact of the disease worldwide. Uses data from: IARC’s Section of Cancer Surveillance (CSU), including GLOBOCAN; Cancer Incidence in Five Continents (CI5); International Incidence of Childhood Cancer (IICC); and Cancer Survival in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean and Central America (SurvCan).
-
International Health Care System ProfilesOverviews of the health care systems of Australia, Canada, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Israel, Japan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States.
-
UNICEF Customized Statistical TablesThe statistical tool includes economic and social data from 195 countries and territories, with particular reference to children’s well-being. Users can choose their countries and indicators to build tables on the fly, or download the numbers into an Excel spreadsheet. These statistics are derived from UNICEF’s flagship publication, "The State of the World’s Children".
-
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry PlatformAims to provide a single searchable database of information about ongoing and completed clinical trials registered around the world in clinical trial registries.
Economic and Financial Data
-
IMF eLIBRARYThe International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides direct access to the IMF’s more than 20,000 publications as well as gateways to other IMF databases and sites, including data and statistical tools. Find information and analysis on topics including macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
-
StatistaContains statistics, infographics, industry and market research reports and publicly-available data for over 25 countries on all topics. Download statistics and charts in Excel, PowerPoint, or PDF.
Note: UNC Chapel Hill currently has full access to Statista with the exception of the Global Consumer Survey and Market Studies.
-
KFF U.S. Global Health Budget BreakdownA thorough breakdown of the FY 2021 U.S. global health funding, including emergency assistance.
-
World Bank Open DataDownload access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources.
Meet Your Librarian
Emma Barrett-Catton
she/her
Contact:
ejbarr@unc.edu
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
(Google Maps for directions)
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-9326-706X
Health Sciences Library
335 S. Columbia Street
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7585
(Google Maps for directions)
https://orcid.org/0000-0001-9326-706X
Subjects: Global Health