Disaster Health Curriculum (NCDMPH)The National Center for Disaster Medicine & Public Health (NCDMPH) developed a free, online Disaster Health Curriculum intended for a wide range of health professionals. The course consists of 11 online modules, ranging from 20-60 minutes, that cover a variety of disaster health topics such as personal and family preparedness, communication, ethical and legal issues encountered in disasters, and much more.
EM-DAT International Disaster DatabaseEM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 22,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to the present day. The database is compiled from various sources, including UN agencies, non-governmental organisations, insurance companies, research institutes and press agencies.
Free Resources (ACEP)A collection of free resources put together by the American College of Emergency Physicians.
Global EM Resources (SAEM)A collection of Global EM resources from the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM). Includes a mix of paid and free resources.
ReliefWebReliefWeb tracks humanitarian crises worldwide by scanning the websites of international and non-governmental organizations, governments, research institutions and the media for information related to humanitarian emergencies worldwide.
Global Essential Medicines DashboardWe created a database of the essential medicines lists for 137 countries by searching the World Health Organization’s National Essential Medicines Lists Repository in June of 2017 and manually abstracting information about which medicines were included in each list. More than 2000 unique medicines are listed. This information about 137 national essential medicines lists is intended to facilitate sharing and decision-making capacity globally and also identify opportunities for improving essential medicines lists. Errors may have been introduced and we hope that users of this site will help keep it accurate and up to date by suggesting changes.
International Vaccine Access Center (IVAC) at Johns Hopkins UniversityIVAC works to accelerate access to vaccines for children in every corner of the world through data-driven policymaking. IVAC is the home to VIMS (Vaccine Information Mgmt. System), a Web-based tool that provides the international community with fast, accurate and secure data on the state of access to vaccines in 193 countries.
Médecins Sans Frontières Access CampaignThe MSF Access Campaign pushs for access to, and the development of life-saving and life prolonging medicines, diagnostic tests and vaccines for patients in MSF programmes and beyond.
UNICEF Immunization InformationWith its partners, UNICEF supplies vaccines to reach 45 per cent of the world’s children under five. In over 100 countries, we work with governments, the private sector, non-governmental organizations, and other United Nations (UN) agencies to engage communities, procure and distribute vaccines, keep supplies safe and effective, and help ensure affordable access for even the hardest-to-reach families.
WHO: Essential Medicines topicsProvides links to information on essential medicines including the WHO Model Lists of Essential Medicines for adults and children.
CDC: Global HealthCDC's Center for Global Health coordinates and manages the agency's resources and expertise to address global challenges such as HIV/AIDS, malaria, emergency and refugee health, non-communicable diseases, injuries, and more.
Epidemic Response Anthropology Platform (ERAP)The Epidemic Response Anthropology Platform (ERAP) showcases evidence from anthropologists and other social scientists around the world to provide insight, analysis and advice, to inform epidemic response efforts.
HealthMap PREDICTAn online mapping tool that enables scientists and the public to track outbreaks of animal diseases that might jump to humans.
ISID Knowledge ExchangeThe Knowledge Exchange (formerly known as IKEEP) platform is an online resource that shares open-access educational modules, webinars, and interactive discussions. ISID’s new online learning environment focuses on sharing evidence-based information for infectious disease management, control and prevention in resource-limited settings.
The content hosted on the Knowledge Exchange serves as an enduring resource for practitioners around the globe with a focus on low- and middle-income countries. Launched in October 2020, the Knowledge Exchange regularly shares critical infectious disease knowledge covering a range of global infectious disease priorities and provides content focused on career development and leadership skill-building.
Malaria Atlas ProjectThe Malaria Atlas Project (MAP) brings together a global network of researchers with expertise in a wide range of disciplines, from public health to mathematics, geography, and epidemiology. We work together to assemble global databases on malaria risk and intervention coverage and develop innovative analysis methods that use those data to address critical questions.
Global Library of Women's MedicineThe Global Library of Women’s Medicine is a vast, constantly updated, and peer-reviewed resource of clinical information and guidance and is published on a not-for-profit basis by The Foundation for The Global Library of Women’s Medicine. Its sole purpose is to offer a minor contribution to the enhancement of women’s healthcare around the world.
Guttmacher InstituteThe Institute produces a wide range of resources on topics pertaining to sexual and reproductive health, including Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health and the Guttmacher Policy Review.
The Global Fund Monitoring and Evaluation ToolsThe list of core indicators, definitions, measurement methods, general guidance on M&E system strengthening, performance-based funding, as well as references to key materials and resources.
International Initiative for Impact EvaluationDevelops evidence on how to effectively transform the lives of the poor in low- and middle-income countries. Established in 2008, they are a global leader in supporting the production, synthesis and uptake of impact evaluation evidence in international development.
M&E Fundamentals: A Self-Guided MinicourseMonitoring and Evaluation (M&E) is an essential component of any intervention, project, or program. This mini-course covers the basics of program monitoring and evaluation in the context of population, health and nutrition programs. It also defines common terms and discusses why M&E is essential for program management.
MEASURE Evaluation ToolsMEASURE Evaluation has developed and applied a variety of tools to improve decision-making in the health sector. Many of these tools have contributed to international standardization of methodologies and strengthened host-country capacity for decision making.
Partners in Health Program Management GuideMany inquiries from those working to promote and implement effective rights-based approaches to the delivery of health care in difficult settings made us aware of the value of sharing strategies that have helped us to implement and to improve our programs.
We recognize that there is not a one-size-fits-all approach to this work, and that contexts are varied and ever-changing. We have posted The Program Management Guide online to facilitate feedback from those who are using it in the field, as well as from program managers and practitioners who are using other successful approaches not identified in this work. We hope this guide will bring about a productive conversation on ways to learn from each other and to improve service.
EAT-Lancet Commission on Food, Planet, HealthThe EAT-Lancet Commission on Food, Planet, Health brought together 37 world-leading scientists from across the globe to answer this question:
Can we feed a future population of 10 billion people a healthy diet within planetary boundaries?
FAO Statistical Databases (FAOSTAT)FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to hunger, food and agriculture for approximately 245 countries and 35 regional areas from 1961 through the present. It also offers an innovative tool, FAOSTAT Analysis, for basic statistical analysis of the data.
Global Dietary DatabaseThe Global Dietary Database (GDD) is an ongoing collaborative effort to produce the most reliable estimates of dietary intake worldwide and inform global health and nutrition research and policy, particularly in poor and vulnerable populations.
International Food Policy Research InstituteThe International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) provides research-based policy solutions to sustainably reduce poverty and end hunger and malnutrition in developing countries. Their website has freely accessible publications, research, and tools.
The State of Food Security and Nutrition in the World (SOFI) Report 2020The State of Food Security and Nutrition in the World is an annual flagship report jointly prepared by FAO, IFAD, UNICEF, WFP and WHO to inform on progress towards ending hunger, achieving food security and improving nutrition and to provide in depth analysis on key challenges for achieving this goal in the context of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.
WHO: Nutrition and Food Safety DatabasesA collection of databases maintained by the WHO Nutrition and Food Safety Department, aimed at addressing the burden of disease from physical, chemical and microbial hazards in food and unhealthy diets, maternal and child malnutrition, overweight and obesity.
World Food Programme Hunger MapWFP's Hunger Map 2020 depicts the prevalence of undernourishment in the population of each country in 2017-2019 - If current trends continue, the number of hungry people will reach 840 million by 2030. Our downloadable Hunger Map provides invaluable info that helps school teachers and children to learn more about the biggest single risk to global health.
FDI World Dental Federation ResourcesFDI disseminates policies, standards and information related to many aspects of oral health care. The Resources section of the FDI website aims to provide useful and relevant information for dental practitioners, students, and researchers.
PAHO: Oral healthThe mission of PAHO's Oral Health Program is to strengthen oral health services through communication and collaboration among member countries to provide the information and resources necessary to promote equal and quality oral health care for all people in the Americas, especially for the most vulnerable populations.
Strengthening Health Systems
CapacityPlusCapacityPlus is a global project focused on building the health workforce needed to achieve the Millennium Development Goals.
Results For Development Health Systems StrengtheningR4D focuses on the key elements of strong health systems, from sustainable financing to scaling innovations, to using data for decision-making, and works with change agents to support the development of context-specific, evidence-based solutions.
UNICEF Health Systems Strengthening ApproachThe United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) published their Health Systems Strengthening (HSS) approach to meet its strategic goals of ending preventable maternal, newborn and child deaths and promoting the health and development of all children and reducing inequities in health.
USAID: Health Systems StrengtheningUSAID works on strengthening health systems with a particular focus on the priority health issues: HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, maternal and child health, and reproductive health.
WHO: Vision for Primary Health Care in the 21st CenturyThis document reviews evidence gathered over the last 40 years, and explains why progress on PHC, as originally envisioned, has been mixed. It provides a detailed description of how the components of PHC might evolve, and ends with an appealing and achievable vision for PHC in the 21st century.
UNWaterThere is no single UN entity dedicated exclusively to water issues. Over 30 UN organizations carry out water and sanitation programmes, reflecting the fact that water issues run through all of the UN’s main focus areas. UN-Water’s role is to coordinate so that the UN family ‘delivers as one’ in response to water related challenges.
The Water Institute at UNCThe Water Institute at UNC brings together individuals and institutions from diverse disciplines and sectors and empower them to work together to solve the most critical global issues in water and health.
WHO: Water sanitation and health topicsWHO works on aspects of water, sanitation and hygiene where the health burden is high, where interventions could make a major difference and where the present state of knowledge is poor.
WRI Water, Peace, and Security PartnershipThe Water, Peace and Security (WPS) Partnership was founded in 2018 to pioneer the development of innovative tools that identify and address water-related security risks.