Skip to Main Content

Health Law

An overview of health law resources available through the UNC Law Library.

Health Care Research & Information

Health Care Research & Information:

Health journals publish scholarly articles related to the latest in health care and medicine. While these publications are typically scientific and require some background knowledge of the subject area, they may be useful for an attorney seeking to understand the underlying issues in a health-related legal issue.

  • PubMed (National Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine)

    • This database is maintained by the National Library of Medicine and provides journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and public health from 1950 to the present. (Available electronically to UNC Community)

  • Global Health (EBSCOHost)

    • Global Health is a public health database containing information from over 3,500 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, these, and electronic-only publications from over 150 countries. (Available electronically to UNC Community)

  • MedlinePlus (National Institutes of Health)

    • MedlinePlus is the NIH's website for patients and their families and friends. It is the world's largest online medical library and offers reliable, up-to-date health information for free. (Available for free electronically via the National Institutes of Health)

Health Care Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Health Care Dictionaries & Encyclopedias:

The following are two medical dictionaries that provide varying levels of detail in their definitions. Both are accessible electronically: 

  • The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine (Oxford University Press, 2001)

    • Considered the comprehensive medical dictionary, this encyclopedia provides information regarding the current state and past history of medicine, nursing, and health sciences, along with over 500 illustrations. (Available electronically to UNC Community)

  • A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia (MedlinePlus 2015)

    • This encyclopedia is maintained by the National Institutes of Health, and is available for free through the Medline Plus website. It is intended for use by those outside the health care field. It includes over 4000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. (Available for free electronically via the National Institutes of Health)