The following are publications and databases that provide information on a variety of health law issues. They are frequently updated, and thus are a reliable resource for researching current and pending issues in health law. Many of these databases also provide access to manuals and practitioner's guides, which provide useful guidance for attorneys navigating procedural issues or advising clients on health law issues.
This CCH database provides access to overviews of recent health law legislation and governmental agency activity, including coverage of the Affordable Care Act, Medicare/Medicaid, HIPAA, and state health laws. Users can also access a variety of health law practice manuals, including titles like: the Hospital Contracts Manual, the Clinical Research Compliance Manual, and the HIPAA Compliance Manual. (Available electronically to UNC Community)
The Bloomberg BNA Health Law Resource Center provides users with information on health law statutes, major case law, and current legal analysis. The HLRC also offers users state law chart builders, which allow users to quickly review state law on a variety of health law issues. (Available electronically to UNC Community)
The Bloomberg Law Health Law Practice Page contains a variety of useful materials related to health law, including books/treatises, news/law reports, updated opinions and dockets, and information on health-related regulatory agencies. To access these tools, choose to view the "Practice Centers" and then select "Health." Practice Tools is one of the options in the sidebar. (Access restricted to UNC Law Students & Faculty)
This collection of CCH materials contains a variety of publications related to health law, including the Health Law Daily, the HIPAA Guide for Employers, the Health Care Compliance Reporter, the Medicare and Medicaid Guide, etc. These publications report on advisory opinions from a variety of federal agencies, provide daily news updates, and serve as guides for attorneys advising clients on a variety of health law issues. (Access restricted to UNC Law Students and Faculty)
This publication for practicing attorneys provides reference work on many of the significant topics that comprise health care law. The Health Law Practice Guide also contains the Healthcare Reform Law Supplement, a resource guide about the 2010 healthcare reform legislation. There are also several appendices highlighting the year’s major case law, state law charts, forms, and a glossary of terms and acronyms. (Access restricted to UNC Law Students and Faculty)
This publication addresses federal laws, regulations, and documents relating to health care. Specific topics included are: Medicare, Medicaid, Patient Confidentiality, Drugs/FDA, Infectious Disease Control, etc. (Access restricted to UNC Law Students and Faculty)
The following are resources that provide regular updates on health law news, recent developments, and current legislation and judicial opinions:
The UNC Community has access to a variety of BNA Reports addressing various aspects of health law. From the UNC Law Library's Legal Resources page (linked above), choose to limit your search results to "Show Bloomberg BNA Databases Only" and choose "Heath Care" from the drop down menu. For example, the following two BNA Reports address current health law issues:
Health Law Resource Center: The Bloomberg BNA Health Law Resource Center provides users with information on health law statutes, major case law, and current legal analysis. The HLRC also offers users state law chart builders, which allow users to quickly review state law on a variety of health law issues. (Available electronically to UNC Community)
UNC Law Students & Faculty also have access to a wide range of health law reports via their Bloomberg Law subscriptions. Each report provide updates on a variety of different legal issues, including analysis of recent legislation and litigation. An example of some of the titles included in this collection are: Health Care Fraud Report, Health Insurance Report, Medicare Report, and State Health Care Legislative Alert. Note that you can also set up an e-mail alert to receive notifications when a particular reporter is updated. (Access restricted to UNC Law Students & Faculty)
Summarizes daily news and legislative/regulatory activity related to health care. (Available electronically to UNC Community)
This bi-monthly newsletter provides informative articles that focus on a wide range of areas in the health law field and offers incisive analysis of key issues. The law library currently carries this publication in print (K8.E26), but it is also available through HeinOnline. (Available electronically to UNC Community)
Health Law journals publish scholarly articles addressing a variety of health law issues, many of which are subject to ongoing legislation and reform. The majority of these journals are available through HeinOnline's Law Journal Library - Health and Safety. A few titles can be found below for reference. (Available electronically to UNC Community)
Treatises are authored by legal experts and provide a detailed overview of a topic. Treatises are a good place to find background information and references to primary sources. The following are a few of the health law treatises and shorter health law summaries available in print at the UNC Law Library:
A one volume hornbook providing a detailed and comprehensive treatment of basic rules, principles, and issues relating to health law. (KF3821 .H4343 2015)
A very basic overview of the field of health care law. (KF3821.Z9 H35 2011)
UNC Law Faculty and Students also have access to this resource via the West Study Aids subscription.
An overview of current issues in the field of health care law. (KF3825.M53 2000)
The following are health law dictionaries and encyclopedias written specifically for those without a background in health care. They provide background information on medical issues and terminology, which may helpful when researching issues in health law.
A basic dictionary covering medical and health care terminology. The law library currently carries this volume in print. (R121.T192 2002)
This guide provides information on current health care policy issues, including long-term care and Medicaid/Medicare. The most recent volume of this encyclopedia is available at the UNC Undergrad Library reference desk. (RA395.A3 R685 2008)
A basic dictionary covering medical and health care terminology. This publication also provides information on classical and standard acronyms used in the medical community. (Access restricted to UNC Law Students and Faculty)
