HIST 220: The Olympic Games: A Global History: Books & Articles
Finding Books
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Subjects in the record and follow those links to find related books.
You can refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen. Use the "Available Online" filter to limit to materials that may be accessed remotely. Under "Resource Type" you can restrict your results to books, journals, or government documents.
- Keyword: olympics and Beijing (or name of host city)
- Associated Subject Heading: Olympic Games (29th : 2008 : Beijing, China)
- Associated Subject Heading: Olympics -- History
- Keyword: olympics and politics
- Associated Subject Heading: Olympics -- Political aspects
- Associated Subject Heading: Olympics -- Social aspects
To find primary resources, you can add keywords to your search, such as: letters, diaries, speeches, newspaper articles, autobiographies, oral histories, government and organizational records, statistical data, maps, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, advertisements, artifacts, etc
Use the facets on the left side of the catalog to expand your search to Duke, NC State, and NCCU Libraries. To expand your search even further, try searching WorldCat..
-
WorldCatOCLC's WorldCat is the world's largest union catalog containing of millions bibliographic records for items in the collections of thousands of libraries from many countries. This database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries in several hundred languages.
Finding Journal Articles (Secondary Sources)
-
History Search: America, History & Life/Historical Abstracts
Allows you to search America History & Life and Historical Abstracts either together or separately. America History and Life, is an index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. Historical Abstracts, covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
-
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Selected Journals
Note that these are scholarly / academic journals on the history of the Olympics. Therefore, the coverage dates don't reflect the time periods discussed. (For example, an article published in a 2020 issue of an academic journal might address your topic on the 1936 Berlin Olympics.)
-
Journal of Sport HistoryAll volumes available online: 1974 - present.
-
International Journal of the History of SportAll volumes available online: 1984 - present
-
Journal of Olympic StudiesAll volumes available online: 2020 - present
Carolina BLU and Interlibrary Loan
ILL and Carolina BLU can help you get a copy of books or articles that we don't own, but it's also where you can place an item on hold or request a scan of an article not available online!
Subject Specific Databases
We have additional history specific databases, as well as hundreds of databases covering other fields.
-
UNC databases for HistoryA collection of databases that cover general history. (See E-Research by Discipline for specific areas of focus within History)
-
E-Research by DisciplineSelect a subject area from this list to find the top resources for each discipline.
Searching Within a Journal
If you find a specific journal title that is relevant to your topic, you can search for the title in our catalog. After clicking on the button for "Full text available via the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries" button, it will take you to a screen similar to the one above where you can search inside the journal. More search functionality will be found within the database, but this search strategy is especially useful if years of coverage are across multiple databases.