HIST 820: Problems in Latin American History: Primary Sources
What are primary sources?
Primary sources are materials directly related to a topic by time or participation. These materials include letters, speeches, diaries, newspaper articles from the time, oral history interviews, documents, photographs, artifacts, or anything else that provides firsthand accounts about a person or event.
Finding Rare Books
UNC's Rare Book Collection is part of Wilson Special Collections Library. You can search all special collections materials at the Wilson Library search page. To narrow your search to materials in the Rare Book Collection, click "Edit Search" and type "Rare Book Collection" into the "Library Location" field.
Wilson Special Collections Library's other four collections, the North Carolina Collection, the Southern Folklife Collection, the Southern Historical Collection, and University Archives. Wilson Library also serves the special collections materials held by the Music Library.
The Research Room at Wilson Library is open by-appointment. All researchers are encouraged to contact us, write to wilsonlibrary@unc.edu, or schedule a virtual consultation to discuss research needs and service options.
Specific Collections and Materials
For a list of Wilson Library's named rare book collections, manuscripts, or digitized books, visit the links below:
General Primary Source Guides
This local guide provides assistance in pursuing research using primary sources, especially those we have available here in several formats: paper, republication, microfilm, and electronic. The database below helps identifies primary source repositories around the world
ArchiveGrid serves as a single point of entry that provides online access to descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide.
