How to Find Rare Books at Wilson Special Collections Library: Named Collections

The Rare Book Collection includes named collections as well as our general collection. You can search for most named collections in our online catalog (see the list of named collections for exceptions).  The North Carolina Collection also contains both general and named collections of rare books as well as a broader research collection pertaining to the state of North Carolina.

Below are links to lists of items in each of the named bibliographic collections. You may search within these lists by clicking the "Edit search" box under the search bar. From there, you can enter search terms and limit by dates, language, format, etc. Then click "Search" at the bottom of the page.

• George Baer Collection of Bookbinding
• Beats Collection
• Lord Byron Collection
• Cameron Sherlock Holmes Collection (not in online catalog; see Christy Edina Richards's An Assessment of the Mary Shore Cameron Sherlock Holmes Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill--bibliography begin on page 46)
• Francis Carco Collection
• Confederate Imprint Collection
• Bruce Cotten Collection of North  Caroliniana
• J. M. Dent Imprint Collection
• Charles Dickens Collection
• Estienne Imprint Collection
• Bernard J. Flatow Collection of Latin American Cronistas
• Robert Frost Collection
• Carl W. Gottschalk Collection on the Human Kidney
• Bowman Gray Collection of World Wars I and II graphic materials
• Archie Green Collection (materials related to folk song and American labor movements)
• Grove Press Imprint Collection
• Hayes Library Collection
• Hoyt Collection of French History (The Revolution and Napoleon)
• Incunabula
• Samuel Johnson and James Boswell Collection
• John Keats Collection
• Kellam “The Night Before Christmas” Collection (not in online catalog; see reading room staff for printed catalog)
• C. S. Lewis Collection (Copying is prohibited)
• Hanes Collection of Manuscripts
• Mass Market Paperbacks Collection
• Mazarinade Collection
• Minton Science Fiction Collection (not in online catalog; see reading room staff for printed catalog)
• John Murray/Smith-Elder Imprint Collection
• Mystery-Detective Collection (Barzun-Taylor)
• Old Library Collection 
• James R. and Mary M. Patton Collection (materials related to Modernist literature)
• Henry Pearson Seamus Heaney Collection
• Walker Percy Collection (Copying is prohibited)
• Sir Walter Raleigh Collection
• André Savine Collection (material related to Russian émigrés in the 20th-century)
• George Bernard Shaw Collection
• Social Fiction Collection
• Southern Pamphlet Collection
• George E. and Melinda Y. Stuart Collection (material relating to the study of Mayan culture and language)
• Ticknor and Fields Imprint Collection
• Travel Collection
• Victorian Bindings Collection
• Mangum and Josephine Weeks Memorial Collection of Ornithology
• Wilmer Civil War Novels Collection
• William Wordsworth Collection
• William Butler Yeats Collection