Hussman School Info.: Home
Images of the School of Media and Journalism
- University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Image Collection, 1799-1999
Illustrations and photographs of various buildings and activities on campus. JOMC-related subjects include: Carroll Hall construction and exterior shots (1950-1974), Howell Hall (1900-1959), JOMC events (1940-1969). Some digitized images available. From the North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives. - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Photographic Laboratory Collection, 1946-1990Photographs developed by UNC-Chapel Hill for campus publications like The Daily Tarheel. JOMC-related subjects include: Howell Hall, Carroll Hall, JOMC classes, various group photos, faculty and staff, visiting scholars, student life and organizations, award and scholarship ceremonies, and reunions. Broad coverage of these subjects, 1949-1990. Some digitized images available. From the North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives.
- Wilson Library Collections with Photographs of UNCList of archival collections at Wilson Library that include photographs of UNC campus. Choose a collection to browse contents in detail. Some collections may include images of JOMC, Carroll Hall, or Howell Hall, but there is no quick way to search all collections at once.
Other Resources
Making News : one hundred years of journalism and mass communication at Carolina by Call Number: PN4791.U55 B69 2009 c. 2Publication Date: 2009An extensive history of the School of Journalism and Mass Communication. Includes some images. Additional copy in Spearman collection (SPE-fac .Bowers 2009).
JOMC Archives in Park Library
Archival materials such as newsletters and alumni publications. Includes photos of administrators, faculty, alumni, and students (e.g. Richard Cole, Charles Kuralt, Vermont Royster, Merrill Rose, Chuck Stone); associations like NCSMA; and instruction/classroom shots. Most photographs date from 1970s and 1990s. Photographs of Carroll Hall (1996-2007) and Howell Hall (1970-1974, 1996-1999).
To access searchable index file: Students on STORAGE > Archives > "JOMC-Dox-Index".
Materials located in hanging files in stacks and shelved next to DTH collection.
@ Wilson Library
Everyone is welcome to use Wilson Library! Here's what to do if you want to use their resources:
- Go to Wilson Library's 2nd floor Reading Room.
- Fill out a registration form and present valid photo identification (ie, One Card).
- Laptops, silenced cell phones, and digital cameras may be brought into the Reading Room; all other personal items, including cases for the above, must be secured in a locker at the Reading Room entrance.
- Beverages and food are not permitted in the Reading Room.
Here is additional information for researchers at Wilson Library.
Image from Wilson Library.
Park Library Chat
Contact Us!
We're here to help! To reach us...
Email: parkadmin@listserv.unc.edu
Call only: 919-843-1842
Text only: 919-442-8077
Thanks to Stephanie Willen Brown, former Director of the Park Library, for making this guide!
