Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
IDST 130-001: The Future of Food: Film & Media
Film Databases
-
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals PlusCreated by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the database indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
-
Film Index InternationalA major information resource for entertainment films, directors and key players produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics and current cinema - Film Index International provides international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
-
Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
-
Film Literature IndexInternational articles on cinema & TV -from 1976-2001
-
IMDBFairly comprehensive source for information about cinema and television
Feature Films and Documentaries to Stream
Kanopy - thousands of classic feature films, educational shorts and documentaries
Docuseek - a collection of documentaries and educational films geared toward a wide range of disciplines
MEF Digital - a collection of films that inspire critical reflection on the impact of American mass media.
Filmmakers Library Online - a small collection of documentaries dealing with a wide range of social, historical issues & cultures
Ethnographic Video Online - an important collection of ethnographic educational and documentary films
Food Docs & Features
Search tips
- Use "advanced search" - type "food" in the subject heading and select format "Videos and DVDs"
- or try keyword searches with these terms: cooking, cooks, food, food supply, food industry & trade, fast food, global food, agriculture, nutrition, restaurants, vegetarianism, farming, etc.
The MRC has a number of feature films and documentaries in their DVD and streaming collections. Here are a couple of lists to get you started viewing -
Documentaries
- The Great Chicken Wing Hunt
- Seeds of Time
- Soul Food Junkies
- Farmland
- Pressure Cooker
- The Hand that Feeds
- Famous Nathan
- I like killing flies
- It's grits
- Tableland
- Eat this New York
Feature films
Media & Design Center
Librarian Profile
Winifred Metz
she/her/hers