Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
INLS 501: Information Resources and Services: Databases
Google Scholar UNC
LIS Resources
LIS Databases
- Library & Information Science SourceA mega database including journal articles about librarianship, cataloging, bibliometrics, and all aspects of information science. Also includes some magazines and professional publications.
A merger of multiple credible LIS sources PLUS Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text, an EBSCO creation. Database from EBSCO. - Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)Journal articles from international sources, covering artificial intelligence, information science, librarianship and technical services. Database from ProQuest.
Database Reviews
- Charleston AdvisorThorough reviews of databases.
- Choice ReviewsBook and database reviews for an academic audience.
Databases A-C
- AccessScienceEncyclopedia articles about all aspects of science from agriculture to zoology. Definitions, explanations, and illustrations of complex topics, such as how a car motor works.
- ACM Digital LibraryProvides access to journals, transactions, proceedings, and newsletters published by the Association of Computing Machinery.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998Full-text of Black newspapers in the U.S. from 1827-1998.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science DatabaseArticles plus searchable charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs and tables representing all major environment topics. Also contains environmental impact statements. 1960 - current.
- AnthroSourceScholarly articles published by the American Anthropological Association. late 19th century - present.
- Art and Architecture CompleteArticles in art and art history; fine, decorative and commercial art; architecture; antiques; and more. Features over 63,000 images.
- Black Studies CenterSecondary sources such as Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and the Black Literature Index. Plus oral history interviews and citations to literary reviews published in the Black press.
- Business Source PremierIndustry reports, company profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses and more. Articles about thousands of companies.
- Cambridge Histories OnlineOver 300 volumes across the humanities and social sciences including political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteArticles in communication, mass media, and advertising. Coverage varies, but some back to early 1900s. Aka CMMC.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextArticles about nursing and allied health. Includes practice guidelines and consumer/patient teaching materials. 1982-present.
- CQ Researcher24-page reports on topics like health, social trends, technology, international affairs, education, and the environment. From the Congressional Quarterly.
Databases D-J
- Data Axle Reference SolutionsDetailed directory information for millions of U.S. businesses and individuals. Search by name, location, and more. Data includes address, phone numbers, competitors, and some financial data.
- DigitalNCYearbooks from NC colleges and universities, NC newspapers, NC city directories, photos from NC and other historical materials about North Carolina. Digitized by the N.C. Digital Heritage Center.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Full text access to nearly every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere between 1475-1700. Aka EEBO.
- ERICIndexes scholarly journals and magazines in all areas of education, from early intervention (birth to age three), preschool, K-12 (public and private), and higher education. 1966-present.
- Gale Primary Sources: Archives of Sexuality & GenderPrimary source collection for LGBTQIA+, gender, and sexuality studies. From American, Australian, British, Canadian, and South African Archives. 16th century to 2014.
- History Search: America, History & Life/Historical AbstractsArticles about American & world history.
America History and Life = journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews in Canadian & U.S. history.
Historical Abstracts, covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. & Canada).
Databases K - M
- IBISWorld Industry ReportsKey statistics, market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, key factors, key competitors and outlook for over 700 U.S. & international industries. Reports are 40-60 pages long and are available as pdf and Excel
. - Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full TextItems from legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar associations, law reviews, and government publications originating in the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia & New Zealand.
- JSTORHundreds of scholarly journals, starting with the first issue. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years.
- Kanopy Streaming ServiceVideo documentaries and movies covering many subjects; pop culture & the arts, public health, LGBT issues, social sciences, sciences, political science, global studies, and more.
- LearningExpress Library CompletePractice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students & adult learners. Includes practice tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS. Helps improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen & more.
Note:Create an account on their website to access tests.
- MLA International BibliographyScholarly articles in literature and linguistics. Indexes over 6,000 journals, plus books, essay collections, dissertations, and bibliographies. Subset of Literature Online, aka LION, from the Modern Language Association. 1926-current; selective coverage 1886-present.
Sources for Consults
These are the ONLY resources that your patrons can access. Please don't share content from any other resources on these assignments.
- Academic Search PremierArticles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines.
- Biography Index RetrospectiveInterviews and profiles of history makers, as well as obituaries, collections of letters, diaries, memoirs, and book reviews. Coverage ends at 1983.
- ERICIndexes scholarly journals and magazines in all areas of education, from early intervention (birth to age three), preschool, K-12 (public and private), and higher education. 1966-present.
- JSTORHundreds of scholarly journals, starting with the first issue. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersFull-text and images of several U.S. and Canadian newspapers from the first issue to 5-20 years ago.
- Readers' Guide RetrospectiveArticles from popular, general-interest mainstream periodicals such as Harpers, Newsweek, Saturday Review, and more. From the former Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Covers articles published 1890-1982.
- U.S. NewsstreamNational and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines. From ProQuest.
Includes: the New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, USA Today, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the Guardian (U.K.).
Databases N - W
- NCpediaInformation about North Carolina's unique resources, people, and culture.
- NoveList PlusHelps readers and librarians find new fiction and non-fiction titles based on books they've already read or topics in which they are interested. Search by subjects, relationships, geographic areas, or periods of time.
- Oxford Art OnlineArt encyclopedias and dictionaries, including Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- PAIS IndexCitations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issues. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature. fka: Public Affairs Information Service. 1915-present.
- Peace Research AbstractsScholarly articles investigating peace research, conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and similar topics. Updates vary, generally: 1964 - present.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997 to present.
- PsycInfoScholarly articles in psychology, plus biobehavioral sciences, medicine, education, social science, & business. 1872-present.
- PubMedSearch all aspects of health and medicine, largely from a clinical, medical perspective.
- ScopusScholarly journal articles with a heavy emphasis on science. International scope. Excellent for citation searching. 1996-present for citation searching; 1966 to present for general searching.
- SimplyAnalyticsIncludes demographic, consumer spending, market segment, and purchasing data. Sources include Mediamark, Simmons, the U.S. Census, and more. Create maps or download data into Excel. Free account required.
- StatistaData on topics such as pet ownership, music sales, poverty, social media use, and much more. Or browse their market research categories. View online and download as.
- Women's Studies InternationalCurrent topics in women's and gender studies. Interdisciplinary and international. 1972-present.
- WorldCatAccess to over 10,000 library catalogs. Lists books, journals, DVDs, CDs, scores, and sound recordings. See also WorldCat.org
- WorldCat.orgFree version of WorldCat. Access to over 10,000 library catalogs. Lists books, journals, DVDs, CDs, scores, and sound recordings.