Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

Investment Information: Home

Home

Purpose of Research Guide

This guide curates research and information sources for business. Use the side menu to navigate to relevant sources.

Want guidance?

Email a business research consultant/librarian:
Nancy Lovas, Davis Library: nancy64@email.unc.edu
Kenan Flagler Research Librarian: Researchtools@kenan-flagler.unc.edu
Schedule a consultation appointment with a business librarian.

Analyst Reports

LSEG Workspace
Aftermarket Reports (formerly Investext) contains the full-text, including tables, charts and other graphics, of industry and company reports written by analysts from more than 700 of the world’s investment banks.
Note: Users must first self-register with their UNC email for a user account before accessing this resource. Please consult: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420 for detailed directions on self-registering for a user account. For help, contact: Researchassistance@unc.edu.

Access: Student, Faculty and Staff with current UNC status, and an email ending with one of the following email domains: @unc.edu, @kenan-flagler.unc.edu, or @email.unc.edu, may set up a user account and access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.
Value Line Research Center
Source for investment research covering thousands of stocks, mutual funds, daily options, and convertible issues. The Value Line Investment Survey ranks stocks on many metrics and includes historical and projected prices, financials, and a quarterly analyst opinion. The Investment Education section includes a glossary, and the Value Line University introduces basics of investment, analysis, and the stock market.

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Most recent 3 years of quarterly reports.
Morningstar Investing Center
Covers data, analyst reports, and Morningstar ratings on stocks and mutual funds. Stock and fund screeners help identify a portfolio’s strengths and weaknesses.

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Nexis Uni
Provides some investment reports and data.

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Financial Markets Data (Stocks, Bonds, Mutual Funds, Indices)

ETF Global
Exchange Traded Funds (ETF) Global database includes bid ask and close pricing, expenses, tracking indexes, assets under management, data and funds flows, historical daily holding and ownership data and more.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.

more... less...

To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
Bloomberg Professional (Kenan-Flagler ONLY)
This database provides access to current (real time ) and historical (about 20 years) of financial, economic, and political news and information covering all sectors of the world’s economy.

Special Note: Because of License Restrictions, Bloomberg access is limited to several computers in the Kenan-Flagler Business School’s Capital Markets Lab (room 2550) in the McColl Building and on 1 computer in the Technology Center (room 1130) on the 1st floor also in the McColl Building.
CRSP Indices
Provides stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolios, Treasury bond and risk-free rates of return on daily, monthly, quarterly, and annual basis for the NYSE and AMEX from 1925 to the present and from 1972 for NASDAQ markets.
CRSP Indicies is accessed through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.

more... less...

To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
CRSP Stocks
Longitudinal price, return, volume, and other information for stocks on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ markets. Also available is return, volume, other and information on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ Market Indices. CRSP is intended solely for research and instructional purposes.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.

more... less...

To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
CRSP Mutual Fund Database
a history of each mutual fund’s name, investment style, fee structure, holdings, and asset allocation. Also included are monthly total returns, monthly total net assets, monthly/daily net asset values, and dividends. Additionally schedules of rear and front load fees, asset class codes, and management company contact information are provided. All data items are for open-end mutual funds and begin at varying times between 1962 and 2003 depending on availability. The database is updated quarterly and distributed with a quarterly lag.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.

more... less...

To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
CRSP U.S. Treasuries
CRSP Monthly and CRSP Daily US Treasury Databases include complete historical descriptive information and market data including prices, returns, accrued interest, yields, and durations since 1925 for the monthly data and from 1961 for the daily data.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.

more... less...

To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.

Datastream

Provides daily pricing, volume, and performance information on equities, market stock and bond indices, macroeconomic data series, foreign exchange rates, daily and weekly interest rates, fixed income instruments, financial and commodity futures and options contracts. Time coverage varies, but many series are available in daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or annual intervals for up to 10 years or longer.

Note: Datastream is now a module that can be added to an LSEG Workspace account. Complete this form to request this module be added to your account: https://unc.libwizard.com/f/datastream-access. Please allow 2 business days for a response to your request. If you do not have an LSEG Workspace account, self-register for an account following the instructions here: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/go65062420. For help, contact: Researchassistance@unc.edu.

Access: Student, Faculty and Staff with current UNC status, and an email ending with one of the following email domains: @unc.edu, @kenan-flagler.unc.edu, or @email.unc.edu, may set up an LSEG Workspace user account and access from on- or off-campus, but must ALWAYS authenticate, EVEN when on-campus.

Datastream Access Policy:
Datastream for Faculty: Access is limited to 60 days, renewable upon request. No download limits.
Datastream for Students: Access is limited to 1 semester and resets in December and May each year. Renewable upon request.

Factset
Real-time analytics, research, and market data.

Special Note: Because of License Restrictions, FactSet access is limited to computers in the Kenan-Flagler Business School’s Capital Markets Lab (room 2550) in the McColl Building.

more... less...

UNC Kenan-Flagler Capital Markets Lab
OptionMetrics
Source of historical price and implied volatility data for the U.S. equity and index options markets. Contains historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, correctly calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.

more... less...

To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.
Mergent Fixed Income Securities Database
a comprehensive database of publicly-offered U.S. bonds. FISD contains issue details on over 140,000 corporate, corporate MTN (medium term note), supranational, U.S. Agency, and U.S. Treasury debt securities and includes more than 550 data items. FISD provides details on debt issues and the issuers, as well as transactions by insurance companies. It is used to research market trends, deal structures, issuer capital structures and other areas of fixed income debt research.
Access through a Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) account.
Special Note: WRDS accounts will only be generated for current faculty, currently enrolled students (Ph.D., masters, and undergraduate), and selected current staff of UNC-Chapel Hill.

more... less...

To fill out an on-line account request form go to https://wrds-www.wharton.upenn.edu/ and click on the “Register” tab in the upper right portion of the screen.

Stock Quotes

Guides to Investing

Investing 101: Investing Basics For Beginners
From Brooklyn Public Library
Investor.gov Intro to Investing
From the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission

Business Research Consultant/Librarian

Nancy Lovas

Email Me

Contact:

Davis Library

Subjects: Accounting, Banking, Business, Company Information, Country Economics, Country Information, Economic Data/Statistics, Economics, Economics Literature, Entrepreneur/Small Business Information, Global Business, Industry Information, Investment Information, Marketing, Patents, POLI: Political Science, Political Science