LGBTQ Life at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Community

The Wilson Special Collections Library materials listed on this page give a broader view of LGBTQ history and community across the Triangle, and in some cases, the state and region.

Photographs of the first Durham Pride Parade, June 1986, by Jenny Labalme. In the North Carolina County Photographic Collection #P0001, North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives.

Joseph A. Herzenberg Papers, 1883-2006 (bulk 1940s-2006)

Joe Herzenberg (Joseph Alexander Herzenberg II) was born in 1941 in Franklin, N.J. He moved to Chapel Hill, N.C., in 1969. Herzenberg was a politician; historian; advocate for social, environmental, and economic justice; and the first openly gay elected official in North Carolina. He died in October 2007 in Chapel Hill. The collection contains diaries, correspondence, subject files, photographs, and other materials relating to Joe Herzenberg. Diaries begin in 1954 during Herzenberg's early adolescence and continue through 2006. Entries are detailed narratives of Herzenberg's daily life during his teenage and college years. From the 1970s on, local and national politics play central roles in the diaries. Correspondence is chiefly incoming and concerns local and national politics and Herzenberg's personal life. Included are letters from Democratic Party politicians running for office; replies from politicians detailing stances on particular issues; letters from local and national non-profits; and letters concerning local politics, such as Chapel Hill Town Council meetings and the Chapel Hill City Greenway. There are also letters, postcards, and greeting cards from friends, family, and students. Subject file topics include politics, family, gay rights, home, hobbies, and social issues in Chapel Hill. Photographs are of Herzenberg's parents; Herzenberg at various stages in his life; school, social, and political events; friends, associates, and other individuals; and Herzenberg's cat and home. Also included are awards received by Herzenberg, his political pin collection, college class notes, and other items.

Lollipop Power, Inc., Records, 1970-1986

Lollipop Power was a non-profit corporation formed by a group of women to publish non-sexist children's books. The corporation operated from 1970 to 1986 in Chapel Hill and Carrboro, N.C. Correspondence with authors and others, subject files, clippings, volumes, financial records, meeting records, distribution ledgers, photographs, and other material relating to Lollipop Power, Inc. Other material includes copies of various editions of books published by Lollipop Power and audio tapes of interviews relating to the publication of non-sexist children's books.

Whole women carologue : a guide to resources for women in North Carolina. Chapel Hill, N.C. : Switchboard,1974. 

Feminary : a feminist journal for the South emphasizing the lesbian vision. Chapel Hill, N.C. : Feminary 

Feminist newsletter. Chapel Hill, N.C. : Feminist Newsletter, -1974. 

Directory for southern feminists Southern Feminist Connection. Winston-Salem, N.C. : Southern Feminist Connection, March, 1976.

RFD. (Bakersville, NC) "A country journal by gay men"

Triangle Area Lesbian Feminists (TALF) newsletters and book projects

Ladyslipper, Inc. catalog