Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
MEJO 441: Diversity and Communication: Older News, Magazines
Online Magazines
Magazines include text and graphics. Get layout ideas, and see how things were done 100 years ago through today!
- The AssemblyThe Assembly is a digital magazine about the people, institutions, and ideas that shape North Carolina. Founded in 2021, it features interesting, deeply reported, nuanced stories about the state.
- Ebony
Full-text and full-images of Ebony magazine, Nov. 1959 through Dec. 2008 available through Google Magazines. Not all issues are available.
- Financial Times Historical ArchiveComplete run of the London edition of the Financial Times, from 1888 through 2021. Every individual article, advertisement and market listing is included. Special supplements and the FT Magazine are also included.
- Harper's Bazaar Archive: US and UK
Full-text and images from America's first fashion magazine. U.K. edition: 1929-2015; U.S. edition: 1867 to the present.
- Jet
Full-text and full-images of Jet magazine, Nov 1951 through 2008 available online through Google Magazines. Not all issues are available.
Full-text and full-images of Jet magazine, Nov 1951 through 2008 available online through Google Magazines. Not all issues are available.- LGBT Magazine ArchiveLGBT Magazine Archive delves into LGBTQ+ history and culture through full-text scanned color cover-to-cover reproductions of 40+ influential magazines dating back to the 1950s, covering newsworthy and social justice topics like health, politics, social attitudes, law, activism, LGBTQ+ rights, arts, and literature.
Full-text and full-images of LIFE Magazine, 1936-1972 through Google Magazines.- Nation Magazine ArchiveDigital archive (1865-June 2020) of American biweekly magazine, offering progressive coverage and analysis of political and cultural news.
- National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994Provides unlimited access to the official journal of the National Geographic Society. Every article, photograph and map from every issue is available and searchable through an intuitive interface. (Source: vendor website)
- New Republic Magazine ArchiveDigital archive (1914-June 2020) of American political and cultural commentary magazine.
- The New Yorker - ArticlesFull images of all issues, including articles & cartoons & web-only content. 1925-present.
- New Yorker - Full issuesFull issues of the New Yorker. Browse page by page of each issue from 1925-present.
- Rolling Stone ArchiveThe backfile of Rolling Stone covers the magazine from its launch in 1967 to the present. It soon became a leading vehicle for rock and popular music journalism, shaping and chronicling new trends and movements. From the 1980s, coverage expanded to encompass more entertainment topics, such as film and television, making it a leading resource for contemporary reporting and reviews pertaining to wider popular culture.
- Vibe ArchiveThis archive consists of the full run of VIBE magazine, the U.S. magazine of record for hip-hop culture from 1993–2014. Founded by Quincy Jones, VIBE offered influential reporting and news about rap, hip-hop, and R&B music.
- Vogue
Full-text and images of Vogue magazine, including articles and advertisements. 1892-present.
- Women's Magazine Archive
Full-text and full image of Redbook, Better Homes & Gardens, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Parents, and Essence. Includes text and images. 1883-2005.
Online Newspapers with Images & Ads
- Raleigh News & Observer Historical Archive
Online access to the Raleigh News & Observer from 1879 to Present.
- Black Studies Center Newspaper Search
Full-text of five African American newspapers: - The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1986)
- The Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
- The Daily Defender (1956-1975)
- The New York Amsterdam News (1922-1994)
- The Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Full-text and images of several newspapers:
- The Atlanta Constitution (1868 to 1945)
- The Baltimore Sun (1837-1987)
- The Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986)
- The Los Angeles Times (1881-1989)
- The Louisville Courier-Journal (1830 – 1922)
- The Nashville Tennessean (1812 – 1922)
- The New York Times (1851 to 3 years ago)
- The Wall Street Journal (1889-1995)
- The Washington Post (1877 to 1996).
Print Magazines at the Park Library and UL
Popular magazines include Sports Illustrated, GQ, Martha Stewart Living, Entertainment Weekly, and more. Available in the Park library.
There are additional print magazines at the Undergraduate Library Ragland Reading Room, including People, Good Housekeeping, O: The Oprah Magazine, InStyle, Outside, and Essence.