Skip to Main Content

MEJO 441: Diversity and Communication: Streaming Media

Feature Films and Documentaries to Stream

French movie poster‚ÄčKanopy - thousands of classic feature films, educational shorts and documentaries. Try starting with Race & Class Studies or Media Studies.
Docuseek - a collection of documentaries and educational films geared toward a wide range of disciplines, including Communication and Media Studies.
MEF Digital - a collection of films that inspire critical reflection on the impact of American mass media. Includes Killing Us Softly and special collections examining gender and race in the media.
Filmmakers Library Online - a small collection of documentaries dealing with a wide range of social, historical issues & cultures; try exploring the films under the Diversity subject.
Film Platform - a collection of cutting-edge documentaries from around the world, covering a wide range of topics

Additional Streaming Media

Television & News Documentaries
BBC Online - BBC archive home to themed collections of radio and television programs
Frontline - Video of select Frontline programming
Media That Matters - Short films that showcase topics of interest from around the world
PBS - NOVA - Acclaimed series of selected films and programs available online
WGBH Open Vault Selected video excerpts and transcripts from public television's WGBH
 
Culture, Ethnography, & Folklife
American Indian Film Gallery - Over 450 films by and about America's First Nation people
Civil Rights Digital Library - Streaming media related to the Civil Rights Movement
Folkstreams  - Full length documentaries about America's Roots Cultures
Library of Congress American Memory Project - Records of the American experience
PBS - POV - Acclaimed series, a variety of full-length and short films
Southern Foodways Alliance Documentary Films - Streaming documentary projects
WNET Thirteen - SOUL! - Episodes from the 1970s all black variety show
World Digital Library - Provides access to digitized items from around the world
 
Film Archives
Internet Archives - Over 100,000 free videos and films online
Sloan Science and Film Award winning short films by students from leading film schools
Thanhouser Films Online - Over 50 streaming films from the Thanhouser Company Film Preservation

Media Librarian

Profile Photo
Winifred Metz
she/her/hers
Contact:
Media & Design Center,
Undergraduate Library
(919) 962-4099
Website

Can't Find it @ UNC?

Can't find the film you're looking for at the MDC? Here are some sites that might offer it free or for a fee: