Moving Image Research at Wilson Special Collections Library: Home

This guide focuses on archival moving images held at Wilson Special Collections Library. Moving images at Wilson Library consist of analog video and motion picture film produced throughout the 20th and 21st century by independent filmmakers, ethnographers, and amateur filmmakers, as well as University staff and students. Some materials have been digitized and are accessible and streaming for research online, while others require visiting the library for viewing in our reading room. Tips for locating additional resources are also provided throughout.

• Moving image collections  - an introduction to collections at Wilson Library with moving images
• Moving image formats - a guide to video and motion picture film formats found in Wilson Library
• Finding and watching materials - tips on how to search and view moving images in archival collections at UNC
• Registering and requesting materials - this page provides details about visiting Wilson Special Collections Library at UNC-Chapel Hill and requesting copies of archival AV. 
• Copyright and fair use - provides resources to help determine copyright and how to use archival moving images

​Preservation of and access to moving image materials described in this Libguide was made possible by funding through a grant from Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, Extending the Reach of Southern Audiovisual Sources. The grant project team includes Steven Weiss, Curator, Southern Folklife Collection; Erica Titkemeyer, Audiovisual Conservator and Project Director; Anne Wells, Audiovisual Archivist; Sharon Luong, Applications Analyst; Andrew Crook, Audiovisual Assistant; Melanie Meents, Audiovisual Assistant; Dan Hockstein, Audio Engineer; Brian Paulson, Audio Engineer; and John Loy, Audio Engineer; who all worked carefully behind-the-scenes to make Wilson Library's AV materials accessible and usable to users like you.

Aaron Smithers and Anne Wells created this guide.