Moving Image Research at Wilson Special Collections Library: Registering and requesting materials

If an item is not restricted, Wilson Library can provide copies of moving image materials for research or reuse. Moving image materials in Wilson Special Collections Library come from many different sources. There are home movies, news programs, documentary films, video recorded television broadcasts, and more. Copying services may not be available for some materials due to condition, available playback equipment, agreements with the donor, or other restrictions such as copyright. For materials in Wilson Library, copyright is retained by the original holders or their descendants. For most materials, copyright has not been evaluated and the user will need to determine the status of the item they would like to re-use on their own. 

Each streaming media file includes a "Usage Rights Statement" and each collection finding aid includes information on restrictions to access which help communicate (1) any known requirements when trying to reuse the item for your own purposes and (2) whether the item can be copied for personal use and research outside the UNC Chapel Hill campus. For example, see the screenshot from the McCabe's Guitar Shop Collection (20511): "Restrictions to Use Duplication for researchers' personal use or publication requires permission from the donor."

To inquire about the availability of specific moving image items, please email wilsonlibrary@unc.edu. If possible, include a link to the streaming file, or if the item has not been digitized, include information such as the collection name and the unique ID of the item or items. For example the Unique ID of the following film in the Brian Burch Collection (20469) is "F-20469/2"

To make a copy request through a Wilson Library researcher account, first register as a library user (required). You will need a user account to place a copy order with either of the methods described below. Once you have registered, you may now place copy orders in two ways:

1. Place your order online via your user account: 
   • If you would like to request copies of items described in an online finding aid, select the "Request this Collection" link towards the upper left-hand corner of the finding aid.

   • 

     Once you have selected the Request button, you will be directed to our Special Collections Library Request System. If you have already registered, sign in to your account using your Onyen, NetID, or username and password. After you have signed in, you will be presented with a page containing information about your request. Convert the request into a copy order by clicking the button labeled “Can’t Visit? Make a Duplication Request” 

   • Please be as specific as possible on the copy order form. Enter the Unique ID or call number of the item you would like copied in the "Box, Folder, or Volume" field.

   • In the box "Describe what you want," specify the file format and any other specifications you need, for example: .mp4. .mov uncompressed, or 1080p pillar box ProRes422HQ file. Select "Copies of audio and visual materials" in the dropdown menu and click the button to submit request. 

   • We will confirm your order and create an invoice for any charges. See applicable fees on our website. If you need assistance with this process, contact us at wilsonlibrary@unc.edu

   • To request an item from the UNC Libraries online catalog, follow the same process describe above after clicking on the request icon in the catalog record as shown below.

2. If you are uncertain about using the order form, you may email us at wilsonlibrary@unc.edu with the following information:  
   • Your contact information (name, address, and phone number) 
   • The call number or unique ID and description for the item(s) to be copied. 
   • The desired deliverable format 

All archival materials and most North Carolina Collection materials may only be used in our secure reading room. To access Wilson Special Collections Library’s collections, all researchers must register and create a research account.

To begin the registration process, please select an option below:

• UNC-Chapel Hill and Duke University students, faculty, and staff may register by logging in with a valid UNC Onyen or Duke NetID.

• All other researchers may register by creating a username and password here.

If you are not affiliated with either UNC-Chapel Hill or Duke University, be sure to write down your username and password, as this information will be required each time you make a request for special collections material.

The first time you visit Wilson Library after completing your online pre-registration and creating a Request System account, you will need to complete the registration process by showing a staff member a government issued photo ID containing (1) your name, (2) your date of birth, and (3) an expiration date, and having your picture taken with our digital camera for inclusion in our database.

If you are coming to our secure reading room to view a media item, book, or other materials described in the online catalog, select the Request button on the right-hand side of the catalog record. Library staff will retrieve the requested materials for you to view once you have arrived on site. If you have not yet created a researcher account, selecting this button will prompt you to create one.

Similarly, if you are coming to view material described in an online finding aid, select the "Request this Collection" link towards the upper left-hand corner of the finding aid.

Once you have selected the Request button, you will be directed to our Special Collections Library Request System. If you have not already registered, select your affiliation and continue with the registration process. If you have already registered, sign in to your account using your Onyen, NetID, or username and password.

After you have signed in, you will be presented with a page containing information about your request. In those instances when you are interested in viewing a portion of a collection or a specific volume from a series, you will need to narrow your request:

• For archival materials:

• For books and other printed materials:

To finalize your request, you need to schedule a date and submit your request:

The materials that you have requested can be viewed in Wilson Special Collections Library’s secure reading room on the second floor. If you have any questions or concerns about the materials you have requested, please email our research staff at wilsonlibrary@unc.edu.

The Wilson Special Collections Library is home to the University of North Carolina's North Carolina Collection, Rare Book Collection, Southern Folklife Collection, Southern Historical Collection, and University Archives and Records Management Services. The five special collections hold unique and rare books, organizational records, personal and family papers, photographs, moving images, sound recordings, and artifacts that document the history and culture of the University, the state, the region, the nation, and the world. The Wilson Special Collections Library is open to the public.