LibGuides: Preparing for the Bar Exam: Test-Taking Strategies & Wellness Resources

Quicklinks

Bloomberg Law For Law Schools

Access: Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill Law School students and faculty with a personal ID. Campus faculty may also obtain access for themselves and their students by contacting the law library reference desk (919-962-1194).
HeinOnline

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies.

Legal Databases

LexisNexis for Law Schools

Access: Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill Law School students and faculty.
ProQuest Congressional

Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1789-
Westlaw for Law Schools

Access: Access is available for UNC-Chapel Hill Law School students and faculty.
Coverage: Varies.

WorldCat

UNC Law Library Resources for Bar Exam Preparation

UNC Law Library Resources for Bar Exam Preparation

The following are a sample of titles from the UNC Law Library that touch on bar exam preparation and test-taking strategies. The majority of these titles are held in the Law School Study Aids Collection. You can view the full collection of materials here.

Clearing the Last Hurdle by Wanda M. Temm
Call Number: KF303 .T46 2018
ISBN: 9781454892250
Chart a course for success with Clearing the Last Hurdle, Second Edition, a comprehensive text that includes substantive outlines on all Multistate Bar Exam and Multistate Essay Exam topics. With measurably positive results, author Wanda Temm guides students through the process of bar preparation with clear and organized instruction, innovative strategies, and practice questions in all formats (for the MBE and MEE). Features: How to formulate a game plan for preparing to take the bar Practice questions in multiple choice, essay, and performance test formats Score sheets with which students can assess their own progress How to use mind maps to improve memory and organize conceptual relationships Starter mind maps for all MBE and MEE topics Exam-taking tips throughout Visual illustrations of key concepts Techniques for decreasing anxiety and stress and for building confidence
Bar Exam Preparation and Experiential Learning for Law Students by Sara J. Berman
Call Number: KF303 .B448 2017
ISBN: 9781634258456
Reading Bar Exam MPT Preparation & Experiential Learning For Law Students: Interactive Performance Test Training will help you master the performance test portion of the bar exam during law school. In the role-play simulations in this title's online performance tests, you will "represent" almost a dozen clients in criminal and civil litigation, and in transactional matters. You will practice drafting memos, briefs, discovery plans, affidavits, closing arguments, cross examinations, and more.
The Bar Exam in a Nutshell by Suzanne Darrow-Kleinhaus
Call Number: KF303 .D37 2016
ISBN: 9781634606189
This edition walks you through the entire bar preparation process from getting a head start during your last year of law school to taking the exam. It features comprehensive coverage of the Uniform Bar Exam, including an explanation of each component and how to prepare for it, to the larger question of what "portability" really means for the bar candidate. This edition also provides guidelines for selecting a bar review course, bar planner checklists, advice on how to manage the material you cover in bar review courses, and advice on how to learn the law so you can remember it and use it to answer exam questions. It identifies the basic skills the exam tests and the precise manner in which these skills are tested, showing you how to target your study efforts to maximize results. An Appendix provides practice materials for the MPT and essays, including the MEEs, with "answer de-constructions" to explain why bar examiners chose those answers as "better than average."
Pass the Bar by Sara Berman
Call Number: KF303 .B45 2013
ISBN: 9781627222389
This ground-breaking book for the law student is not just about passing a test: it is about changing identity, moving from student to professional, and assuming your role as an ethical leader in a complex legal world. You'll find priceless information on: Reducing Distractions, Increasing Focus, and Managing Time Getting and Using Quality Help Practice MBEs, Essays, and Performance tests The Transition from Student to Professional This must-read resource is your helpful mentor, offering concrete advice on how to face and handle today s challenges and achieve. despite them. In addition, the book includes worksheets, questionnaires, goal setting sessions, and other tools to help you stay organized and focused."

UNC Health and Wellness Resources

UNC Campus Health Services

Stress Management and Relaxation Strategies

UNC Campus Health Services offers a variety of resources and strategies for managing exam stress and anxiety. These resources include 10 quick strategies for stress management, breathing exercises that you can utilize during the bar exam, and progressive muscle relaxation exercises.

UNC Campus Recreation

Access to UNC Fitness Centers

Maintaining an exercise routine throughout the bar exam preparation period is very important! Exercise is not only good for your body, but it is also good for your mind and can help increase your focus and ability to retain large amounts of information. If you decide to study and prepare for the bar exam at UNC School of Law, you can purchase a Limited Use Extended Guest Pass to use the facilities at Fetzer Hall and Woollen Gym. This summer membership also includes access to all fitness classes offered during the summer. The cost is $50.

American Bar Association Resources

American Bar Association Resources

30 Tips: Bar Exam Prep Webinar

The American Bar Association offers a "30 Tips: Bar Exam Prep" webinar for free on its website. The webinar originally aired in 2018, but you are still able to register and immediately view the webinar without charge. The webinar covers study schedules, mindset and attitude, taking practice tests, and important things to remember for the exam week.

Student Lawyer Edition: How to Deal with Law School Stress

The March 2018 edition of The Student Lawyer addressed the idea of wellness and finding the proper balance of mental, physical, and emotional health. There are a variety of articles on topics related to wellness while in law school, including how to evaluate your stress level, strategies for dealing with pressure, and ways to improve your mental and physical health during stressful periods. These articles apply to law school in general, but many of their suggestions and ideas can be helpful for individuals preparing for the bar exam too.