Skip to main content

History of the Performing Arts at UNC: Home

What is in this guide?

Native Son Sheet MusicThis guide is a sample of archival resources available in the Wilson Special Collections Library on the history of the performing arts at UNC-Chapel Hill. It offers a brief overview of some of the materials in the library that could be helpful for research and curiosity in this topic. It is organized, by tab, as follows:

  • Academic Departments - Includes archival collections relating to the Department of Dramatic Art, PlayMakers Repertory Company and the Department of Music.
  • Student Organizations - Includes archival collections relating to performing arts student groups or student groups that offer performance as a component of their programming. This guide provides just a sample of the many student groups involved with performance including the Asian-American Student Association, the Black Student Movement and V-day Carolina, and a broader reaching resource, the Carolina Union records.
  • Carolina Performing Arts - Includes archival materials relating to UNC's performance organization, Carolina Performing Arts.
  • Visual Materials - Includes general locations for performing arts ephemera, photographs and newspaper articles.
  • Registering and Requesting Materials - Includes general information about how to conduct archival research at Wilson Special Collections Library.

This guide was created in Spring 2019 by Anicka Austin and subsequently updated by Sarah Carrier.

Your Librarian

Sarah Carrier's picture
Sarah Carrier
Pronouns: she/her/hers
Contact:
919-962-4361
  • Last Updated: Oct 15, 2019 12:29 PM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/performing-arts-UNC