PLAN 704 - Planning Theory: Home
This is the course page for PLAN 704, Planning Theory, for the Spring semester, 2016.
Selected Resources & Article Databases
- Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Google Think Tank Search EngineSearches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
- PAIS IndexA bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes full-text articles.
- Smart Cities Dive (formerly Sustainable Cities Collective)Smart Cities Dive is an editorially independent, moderated community for leaders of major metropolitan areas, urban planning and sustainability professionals. We look to aggregate content and provide resources for all who work in or are interested in urban planning, sustainable development and urban economics.
- Library E-Resources- City & Regional PlanningAccess article databases (such as EconLit, GEOBASE, and PAIS), specialized planning collections (ICUD, NTL, and ULI Development Case Studies), and guides to conducting research in all areas of planning.
News Articles
- Library E-Resources- NewspapersProvides access to current and historical news resources, in a variety of formats.
- New York Times Academic PassUNC Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff now have full, year-round access to The New York Times, including smartphone, tablet, and browser access, thanks to a sponsorship from the University Library. For app downloads, visit NYTimes.com/mobile.
Access DOES include NYT Cooking, but does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users also receive access to the New York Times archives (1851-2002) which includes 5 PDF downloads from the Times Machine per day via timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser. Archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Digital access is available only during the time that our New York Times Site License is active.
To set up your account: Please consult https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nyt-academic-pass for detailed directions on setting up your account. - America's NewsAmerica's News is the most comprehensive U.S.newspaper resource available. It provides information on people, issues, and events in the local area or around the country. Updated daily, America's Newspapers offers tens of millions of current and archived full-text articles from newspapers nationwide in a single, fully searchable online database. It includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers - with 75% of these sources not available in any other library database.
- LexisNexis Academic (Please see Nexis Uni)LexisNexis Academic has been discontinued and the content moved to Nexis Uni.
- Newspaper Source PlusProvides complete full-text coverage of 149 national and international newspapers, such as Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Times (London), Toronto Star, Washington Post, and Washington Times. Additionally offered is selective full text from over 400 regional U. S. newspapers and transcripts from CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NPR, etc.
- FactivaU.S. news transcripts include ABC News, CBS, CNN, Fox, NBC, and NPR. International sources include Deutsche Welle, BBC Monitoring Americas, Euronews, Europe1.fr, Deutsche Welle, IDG.es, Al Qarra TV.
- Alt-PressWatchAlt-Press Watch provides full text access to alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism. This product offers over 600,000 articles from over 230 publications.
Recommended Books
A selection of books that provide insight into notable planning theories.
City by How did neighbourhood groceries, parish halls, factories and even saloons contribute more to urban vitality than did the fiscal might of postwar urban renewal?
The Death and Life of Great American Cities by Thirty years after its publication, The Death and Life of Great American Cities was described by The New York Times as "perhaps the most influential single work in the history of town planning..."
The Power Broker by The hidden story of the shaping (and mis-shaping) of New York through the past half-century.
City of Quartz by A wide- ranging work of social history on Los Angeles depicts it as both utopia and dystopia.- Contesting Space in Colonial Singapore byIn British Singapore, municipal authorities and Asian communities faced off over numerous issues. Contesting Space in Colonial Singapore details these conflicts and how they shaped the city.
Legal Resources
- HeinOnlineAn ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections. It includes: most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation.
- ProQuest CongressionalComprehensive source of current and historical U.S. Congressional material, including bills, testimony, reports, documents, selected prints, the Congressional Record, the U.S. Code, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
- Proquest Legislative Insight Digital ArchiveProvides legislative histories that include PDFs of all relevant publications generated in the course of U.S. congressional lawmaking, including the Public Law itself, all versions of related bills, law-specific Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, reports and prints, Presidential signing statements, and CRS reports.
GIS Librarian
Instructional Session Notes
Searching for Books
When searching for books, try searching in the catalog for a specific city name combined with your topic. For example, city planning raleigh will find all results with city planning -- north carolina -- raleigh in the subject headings, and the most relevant materials related to planning in the city of Raleigh, NC. The following is a list of suggested subject headings:
Article searching tips
When searching the preceding databases, use these tips for better results:
- Use wildcard characters: If searching for economic conditions, type the word econ* with an astericks. That will return economies, economic, economist and any other word that starts with [e c o n].
- Use quotes: When searching for two words, quotes will search for the words when they're next to each other. Thomas Jefferson will return articles with Thomas Payne and Jefferson Starship. But when "Thomas Jefferson" is searched, only those articles with his name will be returned.