POLI 255: International Migration and Citizenship: Home
How to Use This Guide
This webpage has information resources/databases curated for you based on what types of sources you can get in the resource: News, Reports/Policy, and Academic Articles.
Click on the side menu links to go directly to the list of source types that you want.
Read the resource descriptions that tells you the kind of stuff in the resource to help you choose which one to search first.
Use the citation generator ZoteroBib to quickly create your bibliography.
Not sure what resource(s) to use first? Want to brainstorm topic ideas? Ask questions about research? Email Nancy or schedule a meeting using the buttons under her picture.
Where to Find Background Info/Summaries
- CQ ResearcherThe CQ Researcher is the perfect answer for people beginning research on current topics. It covers the most current and controversial issues of the day. From Abortion to War, each issue gives you a comprehensive review of the controversies, historical background, chronology of important events, opposing views from experts on the subject, and extensive bibliographies for additional research.
- The ConversationArticles providing in-depth analysis, research, news, and ideas from academics and researchers.
Search for News
- Newspaper Source PlusProvides complete full-text coverage of 149 national and international newspapers, such as Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Times (London), Toronto Star, Washington Post, and Washington Times. Additionally offered is selective full text from over 400 regional U. S. newspapers and transcripts from CBS News, CNN, Fox News, NPR, etc.
- New York Times Academic PassUNC Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff now have full, year-round access to The New York Times, including smartphone, tablet, and browser access, thanks to a sponsorship from the University Library. For app downloads, visit NYTimes.com/mobile.
Access DOES include NYT Cooking, but does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users also receive access to the New York Times archives (1851-2002) which includes 5 PDF downloads from the Times Machine per day via timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser. Archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Digital access is available only during the time that our New York Times Site License is active.
To set up your account: Please consult https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nyt-academic-pass for detailed directions on setting up your account.
- The EconomistIncludes all articles from The Economist print edition and a variety of web-only content.
- Washington Post (Online)Access articles for the The Washington Post in 15 years of rolling archival content to the present. Available to all UNC students, faculty, and staff.
Note: For remote access, create an individual account here, using your UNC email. - Wall Street JournalAccess full-text articles from The Wall Street Journal: Eastern Edition, published 6 days a week.
How to find full-text of articles published on the Wall Street Journal website, wsj.com:
1. Open the 3-line "hamburger" menu in the top left corner of ABI/INFORM.
2. Select "Publications" menu option.
3. In the search bar under "Publication Search" heading, type "wall street journal."
The first result in the list is "Wall Street Journal, Eastern Edition." This provides full-text access to articles published in the print newspaper.
The second result in the list is "Wall Street Journal (Online)." This provides full-text access to articles published on wsj.com.
Search for Reports/Policy Papers
- Google Think Tank Search EngineSearches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
- Google NGO SearchUse this Google Custom Search Engine to search for current online documents, publications, and websites from nongovernmental organizations.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)A source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, tables of contents of selected journals, and conference proceedings.
- ProQuest Trends & Policy: Immigration"A series of in-depth primary source collections to support research and learning on policy related to today’s most pressing issues. This collection connects policies implemented by the U.S. government with the data-driven results and trends of those policies and provides context with analytical reports and news articles."
- Find PolicyFind policy reports from 17 leading think tanks in the areas of climate, economy, development, foreign policy, health care, and public policy. Use the tabs (at the top of the page) to search in any one of the subject areas.
- Writing about think tanks and using their research: A cautionary tip sheetThis is written for journalists, but contains useful tips for evaluating think tanks.
Search for Academic/Scholarly Articles
- PAIS IndexA bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes full-text articles.
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
Citations
- How to Cite DataUse this guide to create good citations for your data.
Your Librarian
Nancy Lovas
Contact:
Davis Library
Subjects: Accounting, Banking, Business, Company Information, Country Economics, Country Information, Economic Data/Statistics, Economics, Economics Literature, Entrepreneur/Small Business Information, Global Business, Industry Information, Investment Information, Marketing, Patents, POLI: Political Science, Political Science