Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.
POLI 443: American Foreign Policy: Government Information
Declassified Documents and Intercepted Material
- Digital National Security ArchiveContains a comprehensive set of declassified government documents and is a strong complement to the Declassified Documents Reference System. Includes collections of important primary source materials relative to U.S. foreign policy since 1945, accompanied by reference and secondary material.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily ReportsArchive of transcripts from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), the mission of which was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, many of which are first-hand reports of events as they occurred.
- U.S. Declassified Documents OnlineContains declassified material originating from many U.S. government bodies and agencies, including CIA, FBI, Justice Department, National Security Agency, State Department, and the White House. Covers major domestic and international events since the end of World War II. Note: a more complete version of this collection is available in microfiche at Davis Library.
- U.S. Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009Consists of 189 documents edited by Matthew M. Aid "... on the U.S. intelligence ... in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear program."
More Government Publications
UNC holds over two million Federal, international, and state documents, but not all of these are in the catalog. Still, the catalog is a great place to start your research, particularly for documents published after 1976.
A few other useful sources for finding government information are below:
- ProQuest CongressionalComprehensive source of current and historical U.S. Congressional material, including bills, testimony, reports, documents, selected prints, the Congressional Record, the U.S. Code, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
- Homeland Security Digital LibraryProvides access to U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.
- Foreign Relations of the United StatesThe Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.
- U.S. Department of StateContains Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, Country Reports on Terrorism, Foreign Relations of the U.S., and others.
The Presidency
- Miller Center Presidential Speech ArchiveSearchable collection of famous presidential speeches from the Miller Center at UVA.
- Presidential Documents ArchiveArchive from The American Presidency Project at UC Santa Barbara contains the Public Papers of the President, and other resources.
Vital Statistics on the Presidency by Looking beyond the individual office holders to the office itself, this Fourth Edition of Vital Statistics on the Presidency covers George Washington's tenure through the 2012 election.
