POLI 443: American Foreign Policy: Think Tanks & Institutes

Search Think Tanks and Institutes

Google Think Tank Search Engine
Customized Google search of 700 of the most important US and international think tanks. Think tanks are institutions affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses that generate public policy research and analysis.

Access: No restrictions.
RAND Publication Database
Papers and reports on topics of current public policy interest, including criminal justice, education, health, national security and international affairs, energy, environment, and science and technology. Contains indexing records for all of RAND's publicly available documents, many with links to full text reports.

Access: No restrictions.

Coverage: 1963 - present

Council on Foreign Relations
The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan member organization, think tank, and publisher.
International Institute for Strategic Studies
Non-partisan, non-governmental organization that conducts research on political risk and military conflict.
The National Security Archive
Creators of the Digital National Security Archive (available here at UNC), the NSA website also includes electronic briefing books with links to primary documents.
PolicyArchive
Comprehensive, searchable, open access, online archive of public policy research. Developed as partnership of the Center for Governmental Studies, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) Library and Communication Consortium Media Center in Washington, D.C.