This long-time data archive in the social sciences also preserves medical, opinion, and much other data. Check out the Thematic Data Collections linked under Find Data. To download data, be sure to create your account on campus to authenticate it to download data. If you're not on campus, see instructions at https://guides.lib.unc.edu/icpsr.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Varies
Repository for (obviously) non-numeric data: images, sound/video recordings, textual corpora, etc. Searchable by keyword. UNC's membership (managed through the Odum Institute) allows for our use, as well as for a limited number of data deposits per year. Create an account with your UNC email address.
Offers extensive database of opinion poll datasets. Roper’s iPOLL allows searching at the question level. The Center archives national opinion polls back to 1935, both U.S. and some international polls. Holdings include survey results data from academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, ABC, CBS, Wall Street Journal and many more. Many datasets are available for instant download in ASCII or SPSS format. Datasets not available for immediate download may be requested from the Center to be queued for digitization.
NOTE: First time users to NEW Roper iPoll need to self-register for access at login. Your credentials from Classic iPOLL will NOT work without new registration as of 8/14/2020. Classic iPOLL will no longer be updated after Sept 1, 2020.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1935 -
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Annual editions also document current events such as natural disasters and issues of the day. Editions from 1878 (yes, 1878) to 2013 are available from the Census Bureau at https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html. Only more recent editions enable downloading data; older editions are in PDF format.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password. Coverage: 2013 - Present