Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

PWAD 675: War, Crimes against Humanity, and Justice: Primary Sources

U.S. Government Publications

UNC holds close to two million Federal and international documents, but not all of these are in the catalog. Still, the catalog is a great place to start your research, particularly for documents published after 1976. Use the Advanced Search page to limit the resource type to Government publications.

A few other useful sources for finding government information are below:

U.S. Department of State
Contains country annual reports featuring Human Rights Practices, Terrorism, policy papers from the Office of Global Criminal Justice, and more. The website search function is actually pretty decent.

ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive source of current and historical U.S. Congressional material, including bills, testimony, reports, documents, selected prints, the Congressional Record, the U.S. Code, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1789-
Digital National Security Archive
Contains a comprehensive set of declassified government documents and is a strong complement to the Declassified Documents Reference System. Includes collections of important primary source materials relative to U.S. foreign policy since 1945, accompanied by reference and secondary material.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1945 -

Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports
Archive of transcripts from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS), the mission of which was to monitor, record, transcribe and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, many of which are first-hand reports of events as they occurred.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1941-1996

Criminal Tribunals

UN International Residual Mechanism for Criminal Tribunals
Contains primary source documentation as well as links to the two legacy websites below:
International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY)
International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda

Selected Organizations

UN Human Rights Council
The HRC Mandated Investigations link contains documentation on specific missions.

Human Rights Watch: Defending Human Rights Worldwide
Contains the publications of Human Rights Watch, an independent, nongovernmental organization dedicated to protecting the human rights of people around the world.
Access: No restrictions.
Coverage: 1984-
Amnesty International Online
Amnesty International’s mission is to fight injustice and promote human rights. This resource contains web versions of its publications (including periodicals, reports, briefing papers, and news releases) going back to the early 1990s.
Access: No restrictions.
Coverage: 1993 -
Chaillot Papers
This database from the European Union Institute for Security Studies consists of reports and monographs on major security and defense issues of interest to the EU.
Access: No restrictions.
Google Think Tank Search Engine
Searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
Access: No restrictions.
RAND Publication Database
Papers and reports on topics of current public policy interest, including criminal justice, education, health, national security and international affairs, energy, environment, and science and technology. Contains indexing records for all of RAND's publicly available documents, many with links to full text reports.
Access: No restrictions.

Coverage: 1963 - present